My Skin Care Routine – Updated

I haven’t done a post like this in a while, and when I look back at my other one things have changed a lot!  There’s only one product that I’ve found that I’ve liked enough to keep consistent over the past year and a bit, but otherwise things have changed up a lot!

IMG_4288

A skin care routine post wouldn’t be the same without a picture of my makeup-free, non-photoshop touched up face.  Overall, I have good skin.  I have the occasional dark spot, and I definitely battle dark circles on a regular basis, but otherwise I don’t have a lot of breakouts (unless I’m trialing a product that doesn’t agree with my skin), I don’t have a lot of wrinkles or lines, and my skin is neither oily nor dry, and is only mildly sensitive.  So yes, I am very lucky and I know it.

IMG_4287

As you may have also noticed, I am pasty white.  As winter progresses my skin becomes more and more translucent.  Especially on my arms!  You can trace all of my veins without any trouble!  My face will eventually get a ghostly glow, but what can ya do?

On to my skin care routine!

Firstly I cleanse my skin at night with Rocky Mountain Soap’s Juicy Orange complexion bar.  This bar is meant for oily/combination skin, but it doesn’t dry out my skin at all and removes just about all of my makeup on the first go.  If I’m wearing more than mascara and eye liner I will have to wash my eye area twice to get everything off without too much pulling and tugging.

Then, after drying my face, I’ll spritz on a few sprays of Thayers Witch Hazel, Aloe Vera and Rose toner.  I prefer to spray it on than use a cloth or cotton pad because of the waste.  And I find that my skin benefits from the toner more this way, rather than wiping it off.

I follow that up with two pumps of John Masters Organics Vitamin C Serum.  It works wonders.  I gave my skin a break from it for a few months, just to see if it was really making a difference, and after a little while my skin became more dull, and a bit more uneven.  I didn’t change anything else in my skin care routine over those two months as I was too busy to trial anything else.  Now that I have started up the serum again, my skin is starting to even out a bit more, and is already glowing again.

I let the serum soak in before applying two pumps of Chagrin Valley’s Argan Pumpkin Facial Oil.  In the winter, I will add another step to include my moisturizer prior to putting on the oil, but for now my skin doesn’t need the extra support.  On my under-eye area I apply Chagrin Valley’s Whipped Squalene (olives) moisturizer.  It’s very, very thick and moisturizing and has to be applied at night.  Makeup slides right off it!

In the morning I will sometimes use Pai’s Camellia and Rose cream cleanser with a konjac sponge or just use water to wash my skin.  Often, though, I just need a few sprays of Thayer’s toner to refresh everything.  I will follow that up with two more pumps of the John Masters Organics Vitamin C Serum, and then apply a small amount of Boo Bamboo’s Anti-Wrinkle Face Cream and I’m good to go!

As far as facial sunscreens go, I’m still on the look out for a physical blocker that doesn’t leave my skin feeling quite so tacky.  But for now, I’m using Consonant’s The Perfect Sunscreen with SPF 30.  And, like I’ve said many times before, I’m crazy about masking so I treat my skin at least once per week with a mask series to help keep it happy.

There you have it!

Have you tried any of these products?  Which natural sunscreen would you recommend?

IMG_0489

4 thoughts on “My Skin Care Routine – Updated”

  1. Really great post! The Thayer’s is wonderful, though I use it more as a micellar water, and I totally agree with you re the JM C serum! Have you tried Juice Beauty’s CC cream or tinted moisturizer? I actually prefer the tinted moisturizer, and it’s my go-to sunscreen in the summer.
    I really, really love Badger as well. The Daily SPF 30 is great. I add a bit to whatever moisturizer I’m using, and use it straight if I’m spending the day outside.
    What do you think of the Consonant sunscreen? I dunno if Consonant is available in the US, actually.

    1. Thanks for the suggestions! Juice Beauty’s CC cream definitely looks like it’d be worth a try! Badger sunscreen is too greasy for me…. I have a review on the Consonant sunscreen, and overall it is good, but it’s a little on the heavy/tacky feeling side.

      1. You should really give Badger’s daily line a try then! They’ve recently reformulated, and only the ‘active’ line has beeswax, while the ‘daily’ has none and is not heavy or greasy at all! Maybe I’ll do a review comparing sometime on my blog because I really do love them 🙂 They’ve got no titanium dioxide, which sometimes makes me break out.

Leave a comment