100% Pure Lip Creme Stick and Lip Glaze Review

It is such a joy now that my skin care routine is all ironed out that I can start truly delving into the world of green makeup.  I really do like playing and experimenting with makeup, but your skin is truly the canvas and so taking care of it and finding the right balance of skin care products is an absolute necessity for me before I can start thinking about makeup.

Lip products are one of those things that I have always liked, but I was hesistant to use them prior to going green because having the ingredients on my lips meant that I could ingest them and probably did.  I had no idea how scary my products were until I started doing my research, but now that I know better I will never go back.  I can deal with the lesser staying power because I know that they are safer.  Considerably safer.IMG_4334

100% Pure is one of my favourite companies (have you noticed?) but I haven’t given their lip products much of a try so far.  Up for review this time are the Lip Creme Stick in Perfect Naked Berry and their Lip Glaze in Velveteen.  

Both products are vegan and are pigmented with fruit and vegetable pigments rather than minerals which lessens the chance of heavy metal contamination even more.

The Creme Stick works great as both a lip liner as well as a lip colour, but I am using it primarily as a liner.  The formula glides on smoothly, stays put and lasts for hours and hours.  When it fades out, which is usually at the 6 hour mark, depending on how much I have been eating, it leaves behind a berry stain.  The colour Perfect Naked Berry is like my lip colour, just better.  It’s a cool berry hue without much in the way of shimmer or shine which is why I feel it makes such a great liner.  Plus, matte lips are very modern and in for fall right now! I can see myself going back to their website to purchase the other shades (there are only three) very soon.

IMG_4335IMG_4336

I adore the packaging of the Lip Glaze!  It has the signature slick silver packaging with the embossed white flowers and vines that gives off this feeling of luxury.  It stays tightly sealed, which is great for when it’s bouncing around in the bottom of my purse.  The colour is a pretty raspberry/plum shade with a lovely glossy shine.  It smells delicious and it tests my will power to keep from licking my lips too much and licking it right off!  The staying power of this product is where it falls a little short for me.  It just doesn’t seem to last quite as long as I would like and requires some touching up within 2 hours max.  It is great for moisturizing my lips, though, so putting on this protective barrier every two hours or so isn’t too terrible a thing.  It also bleeds out a little, but that’s nothing a lip liner can’t fix.  However, I now own just one lip liner like product – the creme stick – so I guess I’ll have to explore other options in this category.

Any suggestions for a lip liner to try?

Signature

Ingredients: LIP CREME STICKHydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Cocoa Butter, Shea Butter, Beeswax, Coconut Stearic Acid, Vitamin E (Tocopherol), Rosehip Oil, May contain all or some of the following fruit pigments : Cherry, Cocoa, Strawberry, Plum, Blueberry, Blackberry, Peach, Apricot, Tomato, Pomegranate, Acai, Raspberry, Chokeberry and Cranberry, Rice Strach Powder

LIP GLAZE:Organic Avocado Butter*, Organic Cocoa Butter*, Contains all or some of the following Fruit Pigments: Organic Cherry*, Organic Plum*, Cabernet Grape, Organic Raspberry*, Organic Blueberry*, Organic Blackberry*, Organic Peach*, Organic Apricot*, Organic Tomato*, Organic Pomegranate*, Organic Cacao (chocolate)*, Organic Rose Petals*, Organic Lavender Flower* and Organic Cinnamon*, Organic Shea Butter*, Organic Rosehip Oil*, Organic Mango Butter*, Vitamin E (a-tocopherol), Vitamin C (ascorbyl palmitate), May contain Mica (natural shimmery mineral) * Certified Organic

EWG Rating:/ 0 for both products

Leave a Reply

