100% Pure Super Fruits Healthy Skin Foundation Revew

Aside from Jane Iredale’s Dream Tint Tinted Moisturizer (review) I haven’t really branched out into liquid foundations since going green.  I do like the Dream Tint, but it definitely does not offer full coverage,  nor is it vegan.  Naturally, I went looking to 100% Pure for makeup because so many of their products are vegan but they also use fruit and vegetable pigments rather than mineral based pigments to achieve the different shades.  There is so much less chance of lead contamination with makeup pigmented this way, rather than mineral based pigmentation.  Plus, it smells better!

IMG_4340

It took me a little while to decide which foundation I was going to try and I read a lot of review online.  I was wavering between this product and one by Vapour Beauty, but this one won because of its ingredients.  There are seven shades available, and 100% Pure makes it quite easy to pick your shade as it not only shows the little pool of product but also a picture of someone who would use that shade.  Sure, it’s not a perfect system, but it’s way better than guessing based on just a little pool of product alone.  I debated between the shades creme and white peach and ended up going with creme.  It is the perfect shade for me right now, and blends in without leaving the nasty line of makeup along my jawline.

IMG_4341

The formula is loose, but not runny, and is strongly pigmented without having a strong scent. Just a small amount is all that I need to achieve a complete full coverage on my skin – I use a half pump for my entire face.  The downside is that this foundation sets very quickly – very, very quickly.  I haven’t had luck applying this with any of my foundation makeup brushes, the dampened beauty blender works out okay, but I find that the good-old-fashioned finger application works best.  Layering is possible for areas where you need more coverage, but I found that this was best achieved with a beauty blender so as not to over-do it.

Moisturizing well with either a heavy cream or an oil is a must for me.  If I have any dry areas on my face, this foundation will find them and make them incredibly obvious for all of the world to see.  I was struggling for a bit to find something that would work on a daily basis, but since I incorporated Juice Beauty’s CC cream (review) into my morning routine I haven’t had any more problems with the dry patches getting accentuated.  Plus, this foundation balances out the shine of the CC cream leaving behind a wonderful lit-from-within glow.

When it is dry, this foundation feels like silk on my skin.  It’s divine! The finish on its own with a regular moisturizer is matte to satin, but like I said with the Juice Beauty CC cream there is just the right amount of glow that shines through.  The foundation stays put for me all day long and doesn’t oxidize at all.  No one likes an orange face!

Which other foundations have your tried?  Any recommendations?

Signature

Titanium Dioxide and Zinc Oxide are listed as ingredients and in high enough quantities to provide SPF coverage, but it is not listed on the packaging as to what level of SPF this product offers.  The website says SPF 20. Regardless, we really shouldn’t rely on makeup to provide SPF coverage because the odds of us applying enough product to get an even SPF application are pretty slim.

Ingredients: Organic Aloe Barbadensis Leaf (Aloe Juice)*, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Starch, Extracts of Prunus Persica Fruit (Peach), Prunus Armeniaca Fruit (Apricot), Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa Bean) and Lycium Barbarum Fruit (Goji Berry), Euterpe Oleracea Pulp (Acai) Oil, Punica Granatum Fruit Extract (Pomegranate Oil), Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Sodium Ascorbate (Vitamin C), Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Extracts of Organic Camelia Sinensis Leaf Ferment (White Tea)*, Coffea Arabica (Coffee Cherry), Aristotelia Chilensis (Maqui Berry), Vitis Vinifera Skin (Muscadine Grape), Garcinia Mangosteen Peel (Mangosteen), Malpighia Punicifolia Fruit (Acerola), Sambucus Canadensis (Elderberry), Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Seed, Lonicera Caprifolium (Japanese Honeysuckle) SUNSCREEN ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: 15% Titanium Dioxide, 10% Zinc Oxide * Certified Organic

EWG Rating: 0

7 thoughts on “100% Pure Super Fruits Healthy Skin Foundation Revew”

    1. I started off with liquid foundation as a teen, so I guess I’ve just gotten more used to it over the years. Which mineral foundation and concealer are you using?

    1. Usually the lightest shade in whichever brand. I haven’t explored a lot of green liquid foundation yet, but in Stila, MAC, and Makeup forever I am either the lightest or second lightest shade. Hope that helps!

Leave a comment