John Masters Organics Honey & Hibiscus Hair Reconstructor Review

If you’ve read my previous post on reviewing the Rose Milk Hair Treatment by Lavera you’ll know that I’m a big advocate for hair masks.  There is so much out in the skin care industry to support proper skin care with masks, serums, creams, oils, scrubs, you name it but when it comes to hair products, most people stick to shampoos and conditioners.  You spend that time cleansing, protecting and moisturizing your skin, you owe it to your hair to do the same!

Although I do like the Lavera hair mask, I am always looking for new products to try.  Plus, it doesn’t hurt to do a hair treatment more than once a week, right?  So long as it doesn’t weigh your hair down too much, I suppose.  When I found a natural beauty store an easy five minute bicycle ride from my house I was thrilled, and then when I discovered it carried John Masters Organics….well, let’s just say it made me very happy.  I purchased the Citrus and Neroli Detangler (review) because it works so well for my hair and is worth the price, and the Honey and Hibiscus Hair Reconstructor.  

Ingredients: Water, Aloe Vera Juice, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Vitamin B, Jobjoba Oil, Irish Moss Extract, Leciithin Seed Oil, Hydrolozed Soy Protein, Sodium Hyaluronate, Vegetable Glycerin, Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract, Cupuacu Seed Butter, Wheat Amino Acids, Ylang Ylang Flower Oil, Borage Seed Oil, Honey, Olive Oil, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Vitamin E, Kelp Extract, Patchouli Oil, Hydrogenated Soy Bean Oil, Benzyl Alcohol (a natural component of essential oils), Bergamot Oil, Silver Linden Bud Extract, White Tea Extract, Chamomile Flower Extract, Hibiscus Root Extract, Arnica Flower Extract, Linalool.

EWG Rating: 0 – 1

I have used this both as a leave in for 10 minutes or so as well as an overnight treatment and I have to say I’m somewhat apathetic. It works, and works well but I’m not sure that it’s worth the steep price. The smell is light and floral, and the texture is light and creamy. Even with just a shampoo bar it rinses out cleanly without residual. The ingredients are more pure than the Lavera treatment which might be the factor that makes me repurchase this product over the other. I’ll see how long the bottle lasts.  

$29 at select natural beauty stores and online at johnmasters.ca

Leave a comment