John Masters Organics Detangler Review

As stated in my previous posts, my inner diva comes out in full force when I’m dealing with my hair.  In an effort to get away from my stripping sulphate laden shampoo and silicone coating conditioners I am working on the transition to shampoo bars.  The one that I have been trying so far (https://ecodivablog.wordpress.com/2013/06/01/shampoo-bars/) I am unimpressed with.  Sure, it’s just oils but it was really stripping my hair almost as badly as the SLS shampoo.  After the adjustment period was over, my hair no longer felt waxy.  It felt dry and straw-like.  A far cry from the healthy, shiny, silky hair I had a few weeks ago.  I knew that transitioning to natural products for my hair would be a bit of a battle anyway.  I have very high expectations for my hair, and the current conditioner I use makes it the healthiest I have ever experienced.  My hair care routine has been the exact same for years.

So, while I wait to trial the shampoo bars I have ordered from Chagrin Valley, I thought I would add a conditioner/detangler to my hair care routine.  The one I chose, after extensive research both online and at the library, is the John Masters Organics Citrus and Neroli Detangler.

“A light weight conditioner with organic plant oils, protein & vitamins”

The Ingredients: Aloe Vera Leaf Juice, Water, Behentrimonium Methosulfate (not the sulphates that we should avoid.  It is made from rapeseed oil and has been determined safe to use in appropriate concentrations), Cetearyl Alcohol, Vitamin B5, Sorbitol, Jobjoba Seed Oil, Coconut Oil, Soy Protein, Wheat Amino Acids, Sunflower Seed Oil, Lecithin, Vitamin E, Glycerin (plant derived), Citric Acid, Grapefruit Peel Oil, Lemon Peel Oil, Neroli Flower Oil, Elemi Gum, Lemongrass Oil, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate, Arnica Flower Extract, White Tea Leaf Extract, Calendula Flower Extract, Chamomile Flower Extract, Horsetail Leaf Extract, Fennel Seed Extract, Honeysuckle Flower Extract,  Flax Seed Oil, Borage Seed Oil, Hyaluronic Acid, Sulfur, Limonene, Citral, Linalool.

First off, the scent is divine.  A nice subtle citrus, which comes to life in the shower.  It spreads really easily on wet hair and I can feel it working right away to close down the cuticle of my hair.  The recommendations are to leave it in for 3 minutes before rinsing (typical conditioner instructions) or to use as a leave in.  The first few days I tried it I washed it out, but my boyfriend started using it as a leave in right away.  It worked like a charm on both of us, and now I’m using it as a leave in instead of washing all of the goodness away.  I know that I am a princess when it comes to my hair, so spending $22 for 8 floz didn’t seem too bad to me.  The conditioner I was using before was J Beverly Hills Fragile conditioner which sells for about the same or more in Canada and is impossible to find.  

If you have a little extra cash and you’re willing to spend it in the hair care aisle, I would definitely recommend this product.  I have fine hair and this doesn’t weigh it down at all, even as a leave in.  I am glad that I held out and just waited to try this product rather than wasting my time with cheaper alternatives.  This very reluctant diva is a whole-hearted convert.  

Leave a Reply

