John Masters Organics Evening Primrose Shampoo Review

I have a confession: I’m venturing out of the world of shampoo bars. I will definitely keep some on hand for travelling, but it’s extremely basic composition, it was stripping the fun pink, purple, and teal colours out of my hair. Not ideal. My local natural beauty store carries John Masters Organics, and since I am such a big fan of so many of their products, it was only natural that I’d reach for one of their shampoos. I was not disappointed!
IMG_4575

I really like how well this shampoo cleans my hair!  It lathers well for a natural shampoo, and rinses quite easily.  The scent is light and airy with just a hint of the primrose floral and overall is quite mild.  It doesn’t linger on the hair after it’s dried, which is kind of a bummer because it smells so wonderful!

The formula is a little on the loose and runny side, but not to the point that it is difficult to use.  It’s a little on the dark side, but it doesn’t appear to stain or alter the colours on my hair at all.

IMG_4578

Best thing?  The pH is nice and low which means that the fashion colours on my hair will last even longer and won’t fade as much with each wash! Much better than the chemical laden, sulfate containing salon brand they recommended!

I really like this product and will likely continue to purchase it from my local store.  I do like the Rahua products as well, but I can only order them online so since this works just as well and is available just a little ways down the street, I think I’ll be sticking with this one for a while.

Ingredients: Aloe barbadensis (aloe vera) leaf juice*, aqua (water), babassuamidopropyl betaine, decyl glucoside, sodium cocoamphodiacetate, panthenol (vitamin B5), simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil*, urtica dioica (nettle) root extract*, sorbitol, lonicera caprifolium (honeysuckle) flower extract, citrus limon (lemon) peel oil*, glycerin, guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride, hydrolyzed soy protein, chamomilla recutita (chamomile) flower extract*, equisetum hyemale (horsetail) extract*, lavandula angustifolia (lavender) extract*, symphytum officinale (comfrey) leaf extract*, achillea millefolium (yarrow) extract*, camellia sinensis (white tea) extract*, potassium sorbate, salix alba (willow) bark extract*, arginine, serine & threonine (amino acids), sodium chloride, sodium benzoate, sodium hyaluronate (hyaluronic acid), sodium pca, borago officinalis (borage) seed oil*, helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil*, linum usitatissimum (flax) seed oil*, oenothera biennis (evening primrose) oil*, sulfur, soy tocopherol, cananga odorata (ylang ylang) flower oil*, citrus grandis (grapefruit) peel oil*, juniperus mexicana (cedarwood) oil*, pelargonium pelatum graveolens (geranium) flower oil*, pogostemon cablin (patchouli) oil*, santalum album (sandalwood) oil*, linalool & citronellol from natural essential oils

*certified organic

Leave a comment