Red Apple Lipstick – I understand the hype now

Since I started blogging about green beauty I have tried some products that just don`t live up to the hype that surrounds them.  Like at all.  And it`s very disappointing .

I have heard lots about Red Apple Lipstick over the past year and a bit, but I have been hesitant to try them because of all the extreme hype surrounding them as well as their price.  Although, truly, I shouldn`t balk at the price because I used to spend similar amounts if not more on MAC or Smashbox lipsticks…..

Moving right along: I won a gift certificate recently and took the plunge and went for their `buy 2 get 1 half off` promotion and oh my goodness gracious I was absolutely blown away by all three lipsticks that I received.  I can`t say this about too many products with this amount of hype surrounding them, but these little tubes of glory absolutely live up to the positive reviews they have been receiving!

IMG_4316

First things first, can we please talk about the packaging?  This little delight arrived wrapped up in a cute muslin cloth bag with their signature coloured tissue paper.  Each lipstick tube came in a pretty box but the tube itself stands out for me – everything about it from the weight of the tube to the texture and the embossed apple logo on the top screams luxury.

lipsticks

Because I had the opportunity to try them with a gift certificate I figured I’d try three very different lipstick shades to try to get a feel for the range.  Picking just three from the large variety of lipsticks Red Apple Lipstick makes was tough, but I couldn’t be happier with the three that I chose to try.

swatches

 

Rebel, the colour on the left, is a highly pigmented, cool red shade that falls within the shade range of perfect reds for my skin tone.  The formula for this colour, and all of them, is smooth, creamy, moisturizing and very buildable.  Also, it smells delicious!

One swipe of this tube gives a very saturated colour.  I don’t find that this formula bleeds out at all, which is surprising, and lasts a few hours before I have to reapply.  It fades nicely, though, leaving behind a flattering lip stain.  Following the tips provided by Red Apple Lipstick in how to improve the staying power of their lipstick didn’t really seem to make a difference for me, but then maybe I’m just doing it wrong.  Regardless, I am happy with the staying power and don’t mind reapplying my lipstick every 3-4 four hours.

Strawberry Lips, the colour in the middle, is a kind of burnt orange/berry which isn’t quite what I expected when I was looking at the colour on the website but I am definitely happy with this shade.  It is an absolutely beautiful shade for autumn and brings out the warmth in my skin and whatever I’m wearing.  I’ve been wearing it a lot recently.

And finally, New York is a warm pink/nude that is absolutely perfect for my natural-no-makeup makeup look.  This one doesn’t seem to last quite as long as the other two, and really just looks like it fades completely away, rather than leave a stain behind.  But really, it’s a nude shade so what can you expect?

Needless to say I am beyond ecstatic with these Red Apple Lipsticks and will definitely be adding to my collection very soon.  Of all of the green-beauty lipsticks that i have tried I have to say that these are my favourite, hands down.  I can’t remember the last time I have been this impressed by a product!  Seriously, these lippies blew me away! And they’re VEGAN!!

Ingredients: STRAWBERRY LIPS: Ricinus Communis, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Oleic/Linoleic/Linolenic Polyglycerides, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Cera Alba, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate from an all natural non gluten source, Prunis Dulcis (Almond ), Citrus Tangerina (Tangerine) Peel Oil, Essence of Vanilla, May Contain: Titanium Dioxide ,Manganese Violet, Mica, Iron Oxide.

REBEL and NEW YORK: Ricinus Communis, Citric Acid, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Silica, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Copercnicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Gluten Free Tocopheryl Acetate, May Contain Titanium Dioxide CI 77891,Mica CI 77019, Manganese Violet CI 77742, Iron Oxides CI 77489, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499

 

 

13 thoughts on “Red Apple Lipstick – I understand the hype now”

  1. Me too, I’m a lipstick convert after trying out RAL! I recently bought New York and Mayberry, and I agree, NY seems to wear off much quicker than the other deeper colors. But the best thing about RAL is they don’t dry out my lips, but the shimmery ones still do so I stay away form those. 🙂

    1. I stay away from shimmery lipsticks ttoo, because it’s so easy to throw a shimmery gloss on top of the lipstick but there’s no way to take the shimmer out, haha!

  2. I was one of the winners of that same giveaway! I ended up purchasing Ravishing (undecided on whether I like this one) and Mix and Mingle (beautiful and bright) with the gift card, but Rebel! remains my all time favorite RAL lipstick. I haven’t tried New York or Strawberry Lips. Originally I didn’t want to like them because of the extreme hype, but they are certainly one company that deserves all of the recognition they are getting!

Leave a Reply

