100% Pure Eye Shadow Creamstick in Silk and Cotton Review

As we are heading into the colder months, my skin craves moisture.  The weirdest thing is that my eyelids have a tendency to develop eczema, which is not only itchy and painful but super inconvenient because I like to wear eye makeup! This creamstick works well in so many ways and doesn’t irritate my sensitive eye area one little bit!

IMG_4337

Cotton is the lighter colour of the two, and is my go to for highlighting my brow bone and the inner corner of my eye.  This peachy-beige colour gives the perfect amount of light without looking overdone, which works perfectly for a more subtle, natural looking eye.  Silk is in the same colour family, but is more of a medium brown with a hint of mauve.  The two shades work in harmony with each other, and could be worn alone as an eye look, but I find that I still want an eye-liner or a little pop of colour, but that’s probably just me.

IMG_4338

Both colours are very pigmented and go on strong, but blend easily.  The crayons apply very smoothly with little to no pulling at all – it’s like they melt onto your skin.  The formula has just the right amount of shimmer for me, and don’t you worry it doesn’t even come close to looking glittery.  It’s staying power is pretty good and is much better than any loose pigments that I have tried so far, but be careful how much you put near your crease because it will collect up a little in there.  Basically these creamsticks are great for adding some colour for your day look, but if you’re looking for a flashy girls-night-out-look, this product may not be what you’re looking for.  That being said, I would (and have) used this product as a brow bone and inner corner highlighter in that situation.

Also, I am jazzed that this product, like the majority of 100% Pure’s makeup, is pigmented with fruit and vegetable pigments rather than mineral pigments.  My eyelids don’t seem to like the drying mineral pigments in the winter, but don’t seem to be as irritated with something like this.  Sure, there’s still a little mica in here to give the shimmer, but it’s so much less than with other shadow creamsticks so I’m happy.

Ingredients: Jojoba Oil, Silica, Meadowfoam Seed Oil, Mango Seed Oil, Candelilla Wax, Shea Butter, Macadamia Seed Oil, Carnauba Wax, Kelp, Agar Agar, Spirulina, Vitamin E (a-tocopherol), Vitamin C (ascorbyl palmitate), Rice Starch, Black Tea Powder, Pigments of Acai Berry, Pomegranate, Cranberry, Goji Berry and Blackberry, Mica (natural shimmery mineral), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride

EWG Rating: 0 (two ingredients scored a 2, while the rest scored a 0)

Signature

2 thoughts on “100% Pure Eye Shadow Creamstick in Silk and Cotton Review”

  1. Hmmm I’ll have to check this out as I too develop eczema during the Winter months on my eyelids, especially my right one. The ingredients list isn’t too hideous either (I wonder how sustainable they are) so will take a look, thanks for sharing 🙂 ☆

    1. Thanks for your comment. I’m sorry that our eyelids both give us grief, but it is nice to know I’m not the only person that this happens to. Have you tried Seabucthorn’s eczema and dermatitis salve? It saves me in the winter months for sure!

Leave a Reply

