Chagrin Valley Cocoa Whip Hair Moisturizer Review

If you’ve been following my blog you know I love myself some Chagrin Valley. This company makes amazing products, has great business ethics and the most excellent customer service you could imagine. The wide product range offers something for everyone and, in the case of a green beauty product junkie such as myself, so many things I want to try! Up for trial this time from this amazing natural beauty company is their Cocoa Whip Hair Moisturizer and, like so many of their products, I really, really like it.20140623-024526-9926253.jpg

Now that I have been using shampoo bars for such a long time my hair is requiring less and less conditioner to remain happy and soft. A few hair masks now and then, and a little detangler once in a while seems to work well for me. When I saw the Cocoa Whip on Chagrin’s website I thought I’d add it to my last order. I gave it a try as a hair mask, leave-in, and styling aid. Here’s what I found:

As a hair mask it is a struggle to work with. I ended up having to warm up a bit in the microwave just to apply it to the length of my hair. When I washed it out in the morning I was disappointed that my hair really didn’t feel all that different prior to the treatment. I don’t know if it is just my hair texture or what, but it really didn’t sink in. The scent, which is a lovely, nutty, chocolate-like aroma, did linger in my hair throughout the day which was lovely.

So, I opted to try it out as a leave-in conditioner. The very ends of my hair are what need conditioning, now-a-days, and this was much easier to apply to just the tips rather than the whole length like I tried when using this product as a hair mask. When it dried, my hair was silky soft, frizz-free and didn’t look the least bit stringy or greasy.

I think, though, that I will be using this product most frequently as a styling pommade or wax. I used to use a wax-type product in my hair whenever I was braiding or trying to make a sleek ponytail. My hair is just so fine and soft that it flies out of any elastic or braid within an hour. This keeps everything in place with a great shine. Plus, I just can’t get enough of the amazing natural scent! Its so amazing!

$8.50 for 1oz or $19.50 for 4 oz at chagrinvalleysoapandsalve.com

Ingredients: Organic Cocoa Butter, Organic Babassu Oil, Organic Jobjoba Oil

EWG Rating: 0

Leave a Reply

