Consonant the Perfect Sunscreen Review

20140621-024340-9820433.jpg Is this really the ‘perfect’ sunscreen? Maybe not, but it’s pretty much as close to perfect as possible!

Physical sunscreens have the tell-tale white cast, regardless of how many oils and plant butters a company tries to hide it in. Fact: Zinc and Titanium Dioxide are white. End of story. What Consonant does differently is they add just enough of a mica tint to combat and neutralize the white cast leaving you with nothing but a “natural” skin tone.

The formula is a little on the thicker side, and feels a little bit tacky while it is drying. The one thing that I don’t like very much about this sunscreen, but not enough to stop using the product, is that it feels pretty heavy on my skin. I want to use the right amount to achieve a proper block of UV rays but that means that my skin feels a little weighed down. It doesn’t look that way, though, and the sunscreen is invisible on my skin, doesn’t cake, or crease and stays put until it’s time to reapply. Plus it leaves a mostly matte finish. I say mostly matte because there is just a very, very faint hint of sheen left behind when it dries, but think more along the lines of ‘glowing’ rather than ‘shining’.

Aside from the heaviness, I have nothing negative to say about this sunscreen. I will definitely be reaching for this for the foreseeable future. Any physical sunscreen that doesn’t make me look like a ghost, protects my skin, and doesn’t break me out is a winner in my books.

$40 for 50mL at local natural beauty stores and online

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 6%; Zinc Oxide 10%.
Ingredients: Reverse Osmosis Water, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Vitis Vinifera Seed Oil, Oryza Sativa Bran Oil, Glycerin, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, Isoamyl Laurate, Olea Europaea, Ginkgo Biloba, Calendulla Officinalis, Hippophae Rhamnoides, Curcuma Longa, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glucose, Lactoperoxidase and Glucose Oxidase, Hippophae Rhamnoides Oil, Xanthan Gum, Mauritia Flexuosa Oil, Golden Bronze Mica Powder, Yellow Iron Oxide, Potassium Sorbate, Tapioca Starch, Red Iron Oxide, Black Iron Oxide.

EWG Rating: 1

2 thoughts on “Consonant the Perfect Sunscreen Review”

  1. I just purchased this as I have heard nothing but great things! I feel like I get very little sun in Calgary this time of year so saving it mostly for warmer months but in the few times I’ve tried it I like the way it applies onto my skin. I will have to see how it holds up in terms of preventing burns!

Leave a Reply

