April 2014 Eco Emi Unboxing and First Impressions

My April Eco Emi box arrived super early this month. Usually it arrives in the last three or four days of the month but this time it arrived five days after it shipped! The postal system’s stars have aligned.

20140428-161043.jpg

This month the box had an Earth Day theme, which was pretty neat. It had only one Earth Day product, but most things were green in colour. Anyway, it was cute.

Natural Vegan Lavender Eye Makeup Remover by Homespun Northwest – $6 for 3oz: This product came in a fairly large sample size, which was great because I feel that I will actually get a good feel for it. The lavender scent is fairly strong, which makes me a little nervous to put it so close to my eyes. Also, the formula is very thin, like water consistency, so since I don’t use wasteful cotton pads, I might have to experiment as to which face cloth will work best to apply the product without absorbing too much of it itself.

Earth Day Flower Seed Packet by RambinRiver – $2.50 for 1 packet: I am very excited to plant these sunflower seeds in our front garden. The corner right next to the door gets all kinds of sun, so I hope to see nice, tall, bright sunflowers in no time!

Vegan Edible Love Dust in Cocoa Sparkle by All Natural Face $10 for full size: I’m not really sure why “edible” had to be a requirement here, but whatever. The ingredients list is simple: cornstarch, sugar, cocoa powder, and mica, and it looks like it’ll be pretty glittery. Maybe I will use this on a summer night out, but it definitely won’t be a daily thing.

Ultra Care Toothpaste – Mega Mint and Cool Mint by Dessert Essence $6.99 for 6.25oz tube: Both toothpastes are fluoride free, gluten free and sls free. They also appear to be sugar free, which is great. The Mega Mint is just a general, “ultra care” toothpaste, whereas the Cool Mint is a whitening toothpaste with the help of baking soda. The samples look like I’ll get two uses out of them, so I’m happy about that. Maybe I’ll be changing up my natural toothpaste?

Honey Organic Stinger Waffle by Honey Stinger – $22.24 for 16: This snack is USDA certified organic but that’s where the perception of being healthy stops. I’ll give this to my sister to try, because it isn’t gluten free and it has honey. I can’t really say anything more.

Tropical Liquid Drink Mix by Organic Flavrz – $6.99 for 6: This is also USDA certified organic and it is also non-GMO, which are both labelled clearly on the front – definitely something to flaunt. It looks amazing, but I’ll have to wait to try it because we are eliminating sugar for a few weeks to try and do a bit of a gastric reset. But I’m really looking forward to giving this sweet drink a try. Again, I wouldn’t go so far as to say that it’s healthy with agave nectar and cane sugar as the second and third ingredients on the list. Even though it is “fat free” these sugars will be converted into fat in your body. Hopefully the weather warms up soon and we can enjoy of a glass of this on the patio!

Not included in the information on the descriptor card was a Tree of Life Bath Fizzy by Fortune Cookie Soap – $4.95 for 1 bath bomb which is part of their new “Tree of Life” collection. The scent is very uplifting, clean, and bright. I can’t wait to give it a try! Is glitter necessary, though?

Leave a Reply

