March 2014 Eco Emi Unboxing and First Impressions

Each time my EcoEmi subscription box arrives in the mail I can’t wait to open it and see what’s inside. This is a great subscription service, and I have been very happy 99% of the time with the products. Most of the time I find a few products, whether they be beauty or snack products, that I like enough to order.
This month’s box is slumber party themed and comes with all kinds of fun products for a girls-night-in.

Red Popcorn by Kitts Kernel $6.25/1.5lb bag Not a bad price, and for this super flavourful popcorn that is non-GMO and grown naturally it is worth it. I didn’t think popcorn could truly taste different. Popcorn’s popcorn, right? Not so. The depth of flavour in this simple snack was pretty impressive. I will definitely be purchasing the full size of this as soon as my current popcorn stash runs out.

2N1 Lip Therapy and Cuticle Treatment by the Lano Company $5 The formula of this product is thick and ultra-hydrating – think the heavy duty Blistex that comes in a squeeze tube. I imagine that it would be good for your lips, but I’m going to have to stick to using it just on my cuticles. The idea of putting lanolin near my mouth just turns my stomach, but I know that is not how everyone would feel. I’ll use it up, but I doubt that I’ll repurchase with so many other vegan options out there.

Shea Butter by Kartex $10.00/200g pouch Holy bananas I am so pumped about this product! It pretty much paid for the box, outright, and is something that I purchase from my local store. That being said, this is way softer and easier to melt into my skin. It is eco-cert and USDA organic certified, too, which makes everything even better! I will definitely be looking into reordering this, because the price can’t be beat and the formula, even though it is 100% shea nut butter, seems so much softer than anything I have purchased anywhere else. Home-made body butter, anyone?

Eco-Beauty Waterproof Makeup Remover Wipes by La Fresh $9.99/ pouch of 24 packets EcoEmi has included a few makeup remover wipes but these ones look to be better mainly because of the ingredients list and the fact that the wipe itself is biodegradable. The ingredient list, however, isn’t exactly clean with cyclopentasiloxane (according to EWG database has had limited research which shows cancerous and endocrine disruptive tumours when tested on animals in moderate doses). I’m still going to give them a try, though. If they work out they’ll be great for travelling.

Eco-Beauty Nail Polish Remover Pads by La Fresh $5.99/10 count box I won’t even bother going into the ingredients on this one because, let’s face it, painting your nails and removing that polish isn’t exactly “green” and safe. I have just painted my nails, so when they start to chip I’ll take this little wipe out for a spin.

Dawn Lip Gloss by Purely You Minerals $8.00/tube EcoEmi has featured this company before and I was so blown away by the lip gloss they included last time that I purchased another lip gloss, and a few of their pressed powder eyeshadows and a warm blush. I have been using these products often, so I was happy to see another product from this company. The colour is a little orange for me, but with orange being so on trend right now I might be persuaded to figure out how to make orange lip colour work for me. Wish me luck! The only downside I can see so far is that the formula is a little on the dry side, so any kind of chapped lips will make this a bit unsightly.

Almond Bar by Kuli Kuli $2.89/bar or $32.99/pack of 12As a vegan I am always on the lookout for protein, iron and calcium rich bars to supplement my diet to make sure I’m not nutrient deficient in this regard. The bar, sourced from West Africa, contains 25% of the RDA of Calcium, 10% of iron, and provides 5g of protein. The calorie and carb count is a little on the high side for a nutrient bar, 190 and 25 respectively. Ingredients wise, things are quite simple with Organic Dates, Almonds, Organic Agave, and Moringa (a West African medicinal plant) as the only components. I know that I could make something cheaper, and with less of a sugar content (19g) on my own, so I might end up doing that. It’ll make a nice snack for work, though.

And there you have it. Until next month!

