Going Green Tag

Thank you Nicole from EcoChicBeautyDiva for tagging me to do this post.  Like Nicole, I think tags are fun so I was happy to do this one.  Plus this one is great for learning a little bit more about each other and our green beauty community.

What started it all off for you? – Last year after returning from a trip to Costa Rica I became very sick and was off work for three months.  When I finally had enough energy after a month of sleeping pretty much 20 hours a day I needed to find something to occupy my mind because the cabin fever was getting to me, hard core.  “Going green” had always been on the back burner but now I finally had the time to dedicate to truly learning about it.  It also sparked several other changes in my life, but that’s another story, haha!

What was the first thing to go? (Ingredient or Product) – Face wash.  It was just easily accessable at my local grocery store, and I was indifferent to my previous cleanser.

What did/are you struggling to let go of? – Most definitely my hair conditioner.  I was hooked on a particular spa brand of conditioner and couldn’t fathom having to change that.  But then the more I learned about ingredients the more I realised I might have to let this go.  Shampoo bars are what really turned things around for me.

What has been your best find or change? Like I said in the previous answer shampoo bars were my best discovery.  Yes, it took a long time for me to figure things out, but now that my hair has adjusted and I have my technique down I’ll never go back.  My hair is healthier, gets significantly less tangles, and travelling will be so much easier without having to lug around a massive bottle of shampoo.  

What has been the worst thing about going green? What has been the hardest to transition or find an adequate green replacement of? – Again, shampoo bars were probably the hardest trasition, but just to pick something different I’d say body lotion/oil.  I still haven’t found something that works well for my annoying dry and scaly skin.

Anything else to add?  Any tips or tricks to pass on? Be very cautious of greenwashing.  Especially unintentional greenwashing.  Just do your best to stay as well informed as possible, but be skeptical.  Take the autism/vaccine debate for example: One celebrity blaming a vaccine for her son’s autism stands out much more than her retraction statement a few years later.  The damage was done, and there were a lot of unvaccinated related deaths in children that could have easily been avoided.  Question everything.  Try to view all sides.


Thanks again, Nicole!  I don’t know who is left to do this tag, but if you want to do it and haven’t done the tag yet please let me know when you do and link it in the comments below. I’d love to hear your story!

