December Favourites

Sorry that this is a little late.  Between work and the holidays time got away from me.  Here’s what I kept reaching for in December:

Skin Care: It is so dry here, so my skin has been screaming for balanced moisture.  This is my first winter since “going green” so there has definitely been a bit of a learning curve.  In the meantime I have been using my Eminence Organics Hibiscus and  Calendula mask (review) at least once a week to keep my skin from getting too dry and flakey.  I purchased this a while ago and even though I’m using it often there is still a lot left in the pot.  When I do run low I will be repurchasing for sure!  $55 at local natural beauty stores or online

Body: The rest of my skin is suffering too, not just my face.  Although I like creams better, nothing seems to be giving me enough moisture except the body butters my Rocky Mountain Soap Company (review).  I can’t get enough of these!  Although the application process is pretty strange (it feels like you’re applying deodorant all over your body) the results just can’t be beat.  I was almost out when I received a bunch for Christmas! Just in the nick of time.

Hair Care: My boyfriend’s mom was talking about these brushes with towel at the base of the bristles for a little while, so I thought I’d throw it on my Christmas list and give it a try.  I have only been using this since Christmas but I am so overwhelmingly happy by how it has changed my hair care routine that they made the cut for December.  I try not to blow dry my hair except for in emergencies (time crunch) but that means that my hair can literally take 12 to 16 hours to fully air dry.  I know you aren’t supposed to use a hair brush on wet hair, but I am careful, use a wide tooth comb first and a detangler and I haven’t experienced any breakage yet.  Besides, this brush literally cuts the air drying time in half.  My only worry is that it will be difficult to clean, so I will keep you posted on that.  Maybe I’ll have to shampoo my brush every once in a while?

Makeup: I know that the Ilia Multistick was my favourite last month as well, but it has pretty much been all that I’ve worn this month.  I have been using it and the W3LL people Narcissist Foundation and Concealer (review) as a spot concealer and then just using my Jane Iredale powder sunscreen and that’s it.  The only thing I’ve been changing up this month is my eye makeup.  Again, with how dry it is I don’t want to have much on my skin so that I can keep spraying my toner and applying face cream as often as I need it.  

What were you reaching for this month?

Leave a Reply

