November 2013 Eco Emi Unboxing and First Impressions

It’s Eco Emi time again!  For those of you who don’t know, Eco Emi is a subscription service that you can sign up for that sends you samples of natural, organic and green products that have been tried and tested.  This box has a variety of products including food products, personal care products and accessories.  Without futher ado….

Chandra Dry Perfume by Chamelagirl 2.5grams $25

For what appears to be a small vial of spices I have to say I’m underwhelmed.  Don’t get me wrong, it smells amazing, but would I spend $25 on a slightly bigger vial? Probably not.  I think that I’ll mix this in a carrier oil and use my candle warmer to help distribute the scent. 

Pumpkin Pout Lip Balm by Tulips Apothecary 1oz $8

So much for sample sizes, we got a full size of this product and I’m so happy that we did!  This lip balm is lovely, super moisturizing, leaves just a touch of a warm colour on my lips, and tastes and smells great!  What more could you ask for?

Peppermints by St. Claire’s Organics $2.99 1.5oz tin

The simple list of USDA certified ingredients (organic molasses, organic evaporated cane juice and organic peppermint oil) makes for one funky lookin’ mint, but they taste great.  10% of all profits are donated to an organization to preserve indigenouse cultural knowledge of medicinal plants.  It’s a fun little treat, but I doubt we will be purchasing any more unless they are available in the health foods stores in our city.

Greeting Cards by Night Owl Paper Goods box of six $24

Oh my gosh these cards are so cute!  They are made from sustainably harvested birch wood and each card is unique.  My boyfriend and I can’t decide who to give this card to, but I think we’ll be buying a few more.  Plus, with the Eco Emi subscription we get an extra 20% off!

Squeaky Clean Shampoo by Sparklehearts offered in Peta Gift Set for $12.99

If this shampoo didn’t contain sulfates I might be more inclined to give this a try, but I think I’ll stick to my shampoo bars and give this product to my sister to use on my niece’s hair.  It smells so good!  Like orange creamsicle!

Flower Headband by Anna $9

The flower is HUGE! and spot on for Christmas.  I’m trying to figure out how to work it into my outfit for my work’s Christmas party this year… But it isn’t necessarily just a Christmas headband.  It all depends on the outfit, so I could easly make this work with a little Spanish inspired flare.  I can’t wait to wear it!

Whipped Shea Butter with Kalahari Melon Seed Oil by Shea Radiance 8oz $32

I wish that I didn’t like this product as much as I do because the price is a little steep.  But I can’t deny how quickly it has taken care of my dry skin and eczema patches on my legs.  I might have to indulge.  Or maybe pput it on my Christmas list.  Please, Santa?

Midnight Dark Drinking Choclate by Kitsune Tea 6oz $16

Trying to find vegan hot chocolate is like trying to find a needle in a haystack.  Both my boyfriend and I can’t wait to give this delight a try.  It smells amazing.  Too bad that there is only two cups worth!

Leave a Reply

