Seabuckthorn Sample Pack First Impressions

Thanks again to the wonderful EcoChicBeautyDiva for hosting a Seabuckthorn giveaway! I was so excited when I won and then even more excited when the package arrived!  Holy smokes there are a lot of samples and they are all a great size!  I couldn’t wait to get something up on the blog, so I thought I’d share my first impressions with you and then after I’ve given each product a decent amount of time to try I’ll let you know a bit more about them.

SBT Tea – this tea smells….healthy.  It smells like a very herbally, earthy tea.  Both my boyfriend and I are looking forward to trying it.  The list of nutritional ingredients in the tea is extensive and the tea is full of minerals, vitamins and nutrients.

SBT Tea Scrub Bar – You can see the little flecks of tea in this bar and you can definitely tell that it is tea by the smell.  It smells like the SBT tea (go figure) so I can imagine it would be a grounding aromatherapeutic scent when it warms up in the shower.

SBT Juice Bar – Oh my goodness this bar smells amazing! It smells so much like citrus juice it’s unreal.  And the bar itself feels super hydrating: it practically melts on to my skin when I touch it.  I’m always looking for a new facial product, especially one that’s compatible with travelling, so I can hardly wait to give this one a go.

SBT Tea Bar – This bar has a much more subtle tea scent than the other exfoliating tea bar which I think I’m going to like.  I don’t know if I’ll use this bar on my face, though, because it might dry out my skin.  I’ll have to give it a try to find out, I guess.

SBT Shampoo Bar – I have already used up a full size bar of this product (review) and although I have moved more into Chagrin Valley’s shampoo bars it will be nice to give this product another try.  I remember it to be very clarifying and left my hair squeaky clean so this might be a good product to work into a biweekly rotation.

SBT Berry Bar – This doesn’t smell quite and juice-like as the juice bar, but still has a great seabuckthorn scent.  It doesn’t feel quite as hydrating at the juice bar, but definitely more hydrating than the tea bar.  Hmmm, so many facial cleansers to try!

SBT Hand Cream – I never thought I’d say this, but I think that I like this hand cream better than the Weleda Skin Food cream that I have been using faithfully for months.  It is very hydrating, absorbs quickly without leaving any greasiness behind, leaves my hands feeling hydrating for hours and doesn’t leave that mild film that the Skin Food can.  I see myself getting through this sample very quickly.

SBT Day Cream – My boyfriend is looking forward to giving this day cream a try.  Ever since both of us started breaking out with Tata Harper’s Moisturizer we’ve been on the hunt for a new face cream.  The scent of the seabuckthorn is mild, and the formula appears to have just the right moisture balance for this cold winter season.  When both of us have given it a good try I’ll be sure to post a review.

SBT Night Cream – It is almost shocking how different the formula of the night cream is from the day cream.  It’s everything a night cream should be: rich, thick, absorbant and has a light/unscented scent.  I will be sticking to my facial oil at night, but I think my boyfriend will be giving this product a try.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

SBT Skin Cream – Although I had found a good balance for my skin with products in the summer, now that winter has settled in my skin is struggling to stay hydrated.  Hopefully this is my answer.  The scent is almost non-existent which will be great for work.

SBT Berry Cream – Mayber if the skin cream isn’t my answer this berry cream might be?  It has a stronger scent than the Skin Cream but it doesn’t last, so I don’t mind it.

Berry Essence Salve – This has a very subtle scent which is definitely not ‘unscented’ like the website suggests, but like I said it is very mild.  The salve is very hydrating and although I don’t suffer from psoriasis (which is what this salve’s suggested use is on their website) I plan to use this product on my elbows and knees for the extra hydration.

Heal Toe Salve – My feet love this balm!  The citronella-like scent is lovely, and all of the antibacterial and antifungal ingredients certainly can’t hurt!  I have yet to suffer from athlete’s foot or foot fungus of any variety, but a little prevention never hurt right?  Besides, goodness knows my feel could use the hydration offered by this balm. 

Muscle and Joint Pain Salve – I am currently using the Warming Muscle salve by Chagrin Valley but I have to say that I like the scent of the SBT product better.  It doesn’t appear to stimulate circulation and warm up the affected area quite like the Chagrin Valley product, though.  All of the essential oils blended together give this product a wintergreen scent. 

Sunburn Salve – I liked the fresh scent of this product so much I told my boyfriend I was tempted to go out and get a sunburn just to give it a try.  Just kidding.  Sorta.  If we get away some time this winter and hit it up somewhere sunny one of us is bound to get a little sunburn so we’ll give it a try then.

Coughs Colds and Sniffles Too Salve – This smells like Vicks Vapo-rub but without the chemicals and petroleum products.  A definite winner in my books.

Nursing Nipples Salve – I’ll be giving this one away to a friend who is currently breast feeding and will let you know what I hear back.  The scent is quite nice – almost like a spice cake. The formula is vegan and all of the ingredients are food grade so it is 100% edible.  

Stretch Marks and Scars Salve – I have a few scars on my hands which I will use this salve on. Maybe they’ll get a little lighter from the blue tansy oil and vegetable squalene?

Diaper Rash Salve- Again, giving this one away to a friend.  This smells miles better than any zinc cream I have ever worked with, but will it work for a harsh diaper rash?  

Sensitive Skin Salve – The formula makes me wary to use this product on my face, but if I get a bad round of dermatitis on my skin I might reach for this to give it a try.  I just see myself breaking out, but I’d love to be proven wrong.

Eczema and Dermatitis Salve – Winter = eczema for me, and I used to use vaseline (way back when) to help treat it.  This product couldn’t have arrived at a better time! I am looking forward to the obviously hydrating effects this product offers as well as the calming chamomile oil which should help with the itchiness.

Rosacea Salve – My boyfriend has had a small rosacea flare up so, again, this product couldn’t have arrived at a better time.  Of the balms, this one has the strongest seabuckthorn scent which does last a fair amount of time on the skin.  I don’t think it bothers my boyfriend, though, and you have to get pretty close to smell it on his skin.

So, there you have it!  Like I said before, when we have given these products a fair trial I’ll write a few review posts about them.  Any requests on what you’d like to hear about first?

Leave a Reply

