Vegan Lip Balm!!!!!!

I can’t begin to tell you how excited I am about finally finding lip balm without beeswax! To top it all off, they all taste good and really work well!

S.W. Basics Lip Balms

Ingredients: Cocoa Butter, Coconut Oil, Candelilla Wax, and Essential Oils.

EWG Rating: 0

You could order just one flavour, but the entire set came in a cute little tin that I have plans on upcycling very soon to help carry makeup to and from work on the days I ride my bike.  The formula is very thick and stiff, so it requires a little effort to have it melt onto your lips but the fact that it’s vegan and the awesome results are worth it.  It truly nourishes from within rather than just coat the top of your lips like other brands (espeically drugstore brands) have a tendancy to do.  I think the cocoa and cinnamon balms are my favourites, but the other two are lovely as well.  I will repurchase when I run out and will likely phase out my other beeswax containing lipbalms as best I can.  I’m trying to extend veganism to all aspects of my life, not just my diet, but it’s hard.  Especially for a makeup diva like myself.

$4 per balm at freshfaced.ca

Creamy Shea Butter Vegan Lip Balm from Chagrin Valley Soap and Salve

Ingredients: Organic Virgin Shea Butter, Organic Jobjoba Oil, Organic Babassu Oil, Organic Almond Oil.

EWG Rating: 0

You can’t get much more luxurious than this lip balm.  It literally melts onto your lips leaving a nice sheen and intense moisture.  The scent/taste takes on the delightfully nutty quality of shea butter which makes it very neutral but great at the same time.  The only downside is that there isn’t much to keep the moisture locked in on your lips.  This is a great aspect of beeswax, but not in a vegan lip balm.  I wonder if the Candelilla Wax in the S.W. Basics balms is what makes them more difficult to apply than this balm?  I am very happy with this balm and aside from needing to apply it with my finger I couldn’t ask for anything different.  I continue to be impressed by this company and their product line.

$4 at chagrinvalleysoapandsalve.com

2 thoughts on “Vegan Lip Balm!!!!!!”

  1. I just placed an order for some S.W. Basics lip balms and I’m excited to try them out! I enjoyed reading your review. I’ve nominated your blog for a Liebster Award. If you’re interested you can check out my blog for more details! 🙂 -Kasey

Leave a Reply

