Tata Harper Rebuilding Moisturizer Review

After reviewing the samples I received of the Tata Harper skin care line I was hesitant to go for it an invest in the full size.  I say invest because although the products were nice, they definitely come with a very high price tag.  50mLs of this stuff will run you about $100.  Kind of feels like I should be putting a little liquid gold on my skin for that amount.  No joke.  For that kind of price tag I expect great things from a product.  Thankfully, this moisturizer didn’t disappoint.  But is it worth it?

Ingredients: Water, Mango Butter, Organic Safflower Oil, Organic Olive Oil, Vegetable Glycerin, Witch Hazel, Cetearyl Olivate (derived from olives), Organic Rice Extract, Organic Rose Flower Water, Sorbitan Olivate (wax derived from olives), Radish Root Extract, Raw Honey, Sodiu Hyaluronate, Buckbean Flower Extract, Organic Willow Bark Extract, Organic Alfalfa, Organic Borago Flower, Organic Calendula Flower, Organic Meadowsweet, Organic Linden Leaf and Flower Oil, Spanish Lavender Extract, Organic Arnica Flower Extract, Organic Aloe Leaf Juice Powder, Galactoarabinan (gum derived from Larch tree), Sclerotium gum (derived from root vegetables and corn), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (derived from coconuts), Cetyl palmitate (wax derived from olives), Sorbitan Palmitate (wax derived from soy), Soybean peroxidase, Clinical grade essential oils blend, Benzyl salicylate, Cintronellol, Eugenol, Farnesol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool.

That list of ingredients is impressive and even more so is it’s EWG score: 2.  It could potentially be lower, but the EWG rated the unknown essential oils at a 4 (which they likely are not) and the rice extract as a 2 because of pesticide contamination, which is not an issue because Tata Harper grows this ingredient on their organic farm in Vermont.  

As far as a moisturizer goes, you couldn’t really ask for much more.  It is very hydrating (might have been too much for summer for me, but as winter sets in I have seen the benefits of this), absorbs very rapidly without leaving any residue or sheen, leaves my skin feeling moisturized all day and smells great!  The scent kind of reminds me of freshly brewed herbal tea.  The packaging is equal to the luxiouriousness of the product itself and the pump dispenses a very small amount, which is really all that I need.  Usually one pump is enough for my entire face.  

As far as the claims for anti-aging and re-balancing I can’t really say.  It didn’t throw off the balance of my skin, which was already in a good place.  As far as anti-aging goes I don’t think I noticed any changes on that front, but then I haven’t been using this product for very long.  Most dermatologists will suggest that you need at least 30 days to truly see antiaging effects from any skin care product.  Time will tell.  Until that point I will continue to enjoy the immediate benefits of this product.  It may be too early to say for sure, but I am leaning towards repurchasing this product when I run out.  I didn’t think I would ever say this, but, for me, it is worth it.

Leave a Reply

