The Diva Cup

Disclaimer: This post talks about menstrual cups and menstruation.  I am writing to explain my experience with the Diva Cup to help give insight to those considering switching from conventional products to a menstrual cup.  I am not trying to be offensive or over-share and I am truly sorry if I make anyone feel uncomfortable in any way.

Can I be frank?  Being a woman becomes a little inconvenient approximately every 28 days.  For the longest time I was a tampons and pads kind of girl, and really the whole process was rather gross.  There seemed to be no way to make one’s period seem “clean”.  Or at the very least “clean-er”.  Basically what it comes down to, though,  is that it is inconvenient.  Throw the potential for toxic shock or yeast infections into the mix and the whole pads and tampons thing seems even worse.  That doesn’t even take into account the amount of waste created each month by the things.  

I will freely admit that I was very skeptical and more than a little grossed out by the idea of a menstrual cup.  The idea of having to see the mass exodus every month seemed way worse than the awful feeling of pads or the risks of tampons.  But, I decided to give it a go.  I was tired of having to buy these products all the time and tired of feeling so gross every month.  

When I first was looking into using a menstural cup there wasn’t a lot of information out there on the internet.  Reviews were very scarce and information as to the efficacy and safety of these products was rare.  After a little digging and some emails to the Diva Cup rep I decided to go for it and give it a try.   It has been well over two years of using Diva Cups and I have never looked back.

Initially I was still grossed out by the idea.  The first cycle I used the Diva Cup wasn’t great.  I found it very awkward to use, difficult to wash out, and the idea that it was better than a pad or tampon felt like it was quickly snuffed out.  But, I spent $40 on the thing so I wasn’t ready to give up on it just yet.  After a few more months I was completely sold on this product.  It is just so gosh darn easy and I don’t feel that my period inconveniences me or makes me feel “dirty”, do you know what I mean? Because the cup collects the menstural flow and gravity keeps it at the bottom of the cup I never have to worry about toxic shock or changing it religously at least every 8 hours.  It is reccomended that you remove the cup and wash it at least every 12 hours, so I start over in the morning, and then change everything up when I get home from work, and then once before bed.  But, if I’m busy and don’t make it home until later I don’t have to worry about it at all! 

The most shocking thing, besides how quickly I became accustomed to using the Diva Cup, was how little menstrual flow I actually had.  Did you know that the average woman’s period is only about 30mLs?  That’s only two tablespoons.  I don’t know about you, but with the amount of products I used to use each month I expected that number to be way higher.  Doesn’t it feel like way more volume to you?

Long story short, if you are considering trying out a menstrual cup I couldn’t recommend it enough.  Just make sure you are getting one that is surgical grade silicone; you don’t want anything that could potentially leak chemicals into such a sensitive area or, even worse, break down and leave residue or pieces behind.  It may take a few cycles to adjust to using a menstrual cup but I promise you that it is worth it.  The freedom and feeling of cleanliness just can’t be compared to pads and tampons.  And when you think of how much you spend on pads and tampons every year, a once a year $40 investment seems like a no-brainer.

Leave a Reply

