Juice Beauty Green Apple Peel Full Strength Review

The summer has taken it’s toll on my skin and I feel like it’s a little bit more dull and I still have a few dark spots from old acne scars that are resurfacing a little.  I was leaning towards the Bliss Spa Incredi-peel (review) that I had tried not-so long ago, but decided to try out something new instead.  Juice Beauty is a solar powered organic beauty company that features fruit juices as the staple ingredients in their products.  Doesn’t that sound amazing? And to top it all off, their products are vegan!

The green apple peels come in three variations: full strength, sensitive, and acne control.  I opted to try the full strength one and after just one use I was hooked!

Ingredients: Organic Apple Juice, Organic Lemon Juice, Organic Aloe Juice, Willow Bark Extract, Grape Seed Extract, Lactic Acid, Glycolic Acid, Vegetable Glycerin, Hydroxypropyl Starch Phosphate, Sodium Hydroxide, Vitamin E, Vitamin C, Vitamin A, Tetrasodium Glutamate Diacetate, Magnesium Aspartate, Zinc Gluconate, Copper Gluconate, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenethyl Alcohol, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Xanthan Gum.

EWG Rating: 2

My skin is normal bordering on sensitive so I expected to have some kind of reaction to this product.  The first time I put it on I did the test patch as reccommended on the package and didn’t have any problems so I proceeded to apply it to my entire face.  It’s almost gel like in consistency, and although it doesn’t exactly smell good, it doesn’t smell bad either.  Right away my face started to tingle/burn, again, as I expected but that only lasted for about a minute and then everything settled down.  I let it sit on my skin for ten minutes as per the instructions and when I went back to the sink to wash it off I was shocked by how red my face was!  Holy smokes it was red and splotchy.  Not a gentle pink or slightly irritated glow, but an angry and ferocious red!  Nothing like the test spot at all.  I washed it off with cool water and immediated reached for my calming rose water toner and hoped for the best.  The first thing I noticed was that my skin was incredibly soft.  It was noticeably better than with the Bliss Spa Incredi-peel face cloths.  My skin did take about an hour to calm down from it’s enraged state but when it did I had a very healthy glow.  I don’t think one cell of dead skin remained on my face! 

Even though AHA peels can be used more often I am hesitant to use this product more than once a week.  But the results, despite using it onlly once a week, cannot be contested.  I have definitely noticed a significant reduction in my fine lines on my forehead and in the overall appearance of my skin.  My acne scars are all but gone and the small sun spots have disappeared completely.  Even though this product is $50 for 2oz I will definitely be repurchasing the next time my skin needs a pick me up.  

Don’t forget! If you use this product, or any other AHA product please, please, please be dilegent with your SPF.  Your skin becomes significantly more sensitive to UV damage and you don’t want to undo all of the goodess that you are trying to achieve.

Leave a Reply

