Chagrin Valley Warming Muscle Salve and Healing Herbs Lip Balm Review

On my latest order to Chagrin Valley Soap and Salve I tacked on a few extras just to make the shipping most efficient.  Any one else out there do that?  Try to get to the maximum amount for your level of shipping?

I am completely hooked on the Badger aromatherapy balms, so when I was browsing their websites and saw salves I wanted to give one of them a try.  The warming balm just seemed like a no brainer for me and my boyfriend.  It worked just as well as I was hoping it would, but without the all to familiar scent of other sore muscle treatments.  Win-win!

Ingredients: Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil infused with Organic Botanicals (Arnica, Devil’s Claw, Cayenne, St. John’s Wort, Chamomile), Organic Beeswax, Organic Essential Oils of Juniper, Spearment, Rosemary, Lime, Ginger and Eucalyptus.  USDA and OEFFA Certified Organic

It gives a significantly less strong warming sensation than, say, Tiger Balm or similar products, but I still found that it worked just as well.  The warming sensation lasted about 40 minutes and definitely made a difference for me.  The greatest thing? The scent is almost non-existent!  I am so happy about that because traditionally these balms smell overwhelming of eucalyptus and spearmint (and maybe other chemicals).  I’m so excited because this can come with me to work and I don’t have to worry about the smell!  I will definitely be repurchasing this one when it runs out.

$10 for a 2 oz tin  A little goes a long way, so I expect it to last a fair amounf of time.

My boyfriend loves his mocha lip balm from Chagrin Valley, so I thought I’d give one a try.  Since I already have a few fruity balms and a mint balm I decided to go for something a little different and try their healing herbs lip balm.

Ingredients: Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Organic Calendula, Organic St. John’s Wort, Organic Chickweed, Organic Plantain, Organic Walnut Leaf, Organic Rosehips Oil, Organic Jobjoba Oil, Organic Seabuckthorn Oil, Organic Beeswax.  USDA and OEFFA Certified Organic

The company is phasing in their glass containers to replace the plastic and I was lucky enough to get one to try.  The packaging is simple and has a screw top lid.  It spreads on really easily and a very thin layer is enough for me to feel that my lips are sufficiently moisturized.  The scent isn’t exactly what I was expecting, to be honest.  I was looking for more of a herb garden scent….this one, well, it’s hard to describe unless you work with children…  Sorry to be so enigmatic.  I’m trying to be nice and G-rated, so long story short it really doesn’t smell that great.  The good news is that once it’s on my lips I can’t smell it anymore.  I definitely won’t be caught sniffing in the aromatherapy of this balm.  I know that I won’t be repurchasing this scent, but I will definitely be trying some of their other scents because of how well it works.

$4.25 for 0.25oz.  Again, a little goes a long way so I expect this to last a very long time.

Leave a Reply

