Chagrin Valley Extra Honey & Beer Shampoo Bar

Surprise! Another shampoo bar review! I am using the Lavender Spice shampoo bar (review) faithfully, but I really wanted to find something that I could use without having to worry about conditioner.  I was talking with someone else who is trying out Chagrin Valley bars and she said that the honey, beer and egg one worked well for her fine, long hair which is exactly what I have.  I don’t mind using honey, or beer, but the idea of undeveloped animals on my head turns my stomach.  So I opted to try the Extra Honey Beer shampoo bar instead.

Ingredients: Coconut Oil, Rice Bran Oil, Organic Sustainable Palm Oil, Beer, Jobjoba Oil, Castor Oil, Sodium Hydroxide (used in the saponification process, none actually remains in the bar), Cocoa Butter, Raw Honey, Mango Butter, Water, Rosemary Extract.

Oh my goodness, I really like this shampoo bar.  The first wash I tried with it I couldn’t believe how soft my hair felt after I had rinsed it out in the shower.  Definitely not tacky, or gummy like I had experienced with a few other moisturizing shampoo bars by Chagrin Valley, but almost like I had already used a conditioner on my hair.  I still used my conditioner for that first wash, but for the second wash I went without just to see what would happen.

This bar makes my hair so incredibly, touchably soft I can’t get over it.  Dare I say that it makes my hair feel even better than my super expensive silicone laden salon brand that I used faithfully for years? Yes.  It feels just as soft, if not more so, but without the weight.  And the shine! Oh my, the shine is incredible.  I’m a little worried that this bar may not clean quite as well, so I think I will keep it in rotation with another bar, but time will tell.  I may have found a solution to going without regular conditioning…

$2.70 for a sample, $7.75 for the full size at http://www.chagrinvalleysoapandsalve.com

3 thoughts on “Chagrin Valley Extra Honey & Beer Shampoo Bar”

  1. This looks pretty cool. Would it be good for slightly frizzy hair? Do you find that it strips the hair at all? It sounds pretty gentle from your description. I think I might try this one 🙂 Thanks for letting me know about it! Xo

    1. My hair is also prone to frizz and this works wonders! I don’t find that it strips my hair at all. Since incorporating this shampoo bar into my routine my hair’s frizz is virtually non-existent.

Leave a Reply

