Chagrin Valley Butter Bar Conditioner Review

I love the idea of shampoo bars for travelling because you aren’t carrying around the extra weight in water, plus you don’t have to worry about it leaking everywhere all over your bag.  I have yet to find something that will work as a solid conditioner.  Coconut oil on it’s own is far too heavy for me, and cocoa butter, shea butter and mango butter on their own leave my hair a solid, greasy mess.  When I saw this bar on the Chagrin Valley website I wanted to give it a try.

Ingredients: Coconut Oil, Unrefined Cocoa Butter, Virgin Shea Butter, Sunflower Oil, Babassu Oil, Water, Organic Coconut Milk, Mango Butter, Sodium Hydroxide (used in the saponification process, none actually remains in the bar), Castor Oil, Rosemary Oil Extract.

I was a little hesitant to give this bar a try because of the babassu oil.  If you’ve been following my shampoo bar trial you’ll know that one ingredient seemed to be the common denominator in the bars that didn’t work out so well for me.  I washed my hair twice with the Lavender Spice shampoo bar (review) and then lathered this bar up in my hands and put it on my hair from about the ears down.  Immediately it felt super sticky, and was very tangled. I rinsed and rinsed and rinsed as per normal.  There was no way I could get my ultra wide tooth comb through it.  With all of the other natural conditioners that I’ve tried my hair has always felt so much better once it had dried, so I wanted to give this one a chance.  I piled my hair up on the top of my head and waited for it to air dry***.

When my hair had dried, it was a disaster.  It felt dry and crunchy and looked frizzy.  I decided that first impressions might not be the best to rely on, but even the second and third times gave the same result.  I really, really wanted this product to work for me, but it just wasn’t conditioning enough for my dry, processed hair.

$2.70 for a sample, and $7.75 for a full size

**** I no longer use a hairdryer on my hair because I found that for my fine, long hair the hairdryer re-solidified the soap on my hair, leaving it super sticky, oily, and heavy.

4 thoughts on “Chagrin Valley Butter Bar Conditioner Review”

  1. I think calling this a conditioner is a misnomer. It bills itself as a conditioning shampoo (the saponified oils tell me it’s soap), so you essentially shampooed your hair twice rather than used a conditioner bar!

Leave a Reply

