DIY Body Butter

I tried to get it to resemble the 100% Pure Nourishing Body Cream consistency because I really like those products.  I’ll probably continue to purchase them just because of their convenience and lovely scents, but at $20 for 8oz and shipping all the way across North America I feel like I owe it to the environment and my wallet to look for an alternative.  But my goodness I do like their Honey and Almond and their White Peach scent.  

It took me a while to research all of the ingredients and how I could possibly make my own lotion but after a few weeks of looking into it, and searching out for the ingredients I wanted I finally came up with a recipe.  It took a little tweaking here and there, and for now I’ve settled on it being a body butter.  I separated a small porrtion out and added more rose hydrosol to make it more like a lotion.  I’m happy with both!

Ingredients:

2 1/2 tsp Rose Hydrosol

1/2 cup Cocoa Butter

1/4 cup Shea Butter

1/4 cup Coconut Oil

1/2 tbsp Honey (the honey is for it’s antibacterial properties.  For a vegan option, you can put .5 oz of Citric Acid in 1 tbsp of a carrier oil such as jobjoba oil or castor oil)

3 tbsp Vegetable Glycerin

1/3 cup Sweet Almond Oil with Vitamin E

1 tbsp Jobjoba Oil

5 drops Tea Tree Oil

5 -10 drops Essential Oil for Scent (I chose Ylang Ylang and Lavender)

Ideally you will want to use a double boiler to melt the butters and oils together, but I don’t have one.  I just melted the cocoa butter, shea butter, coconut oil, honey and vegetable glycerin in a pot on very low heat stirring constantly.

  It took a while, but nothing burned.  Once I had everything melted I added the rose hydrosol, the almond oil, the jobjoba oil and the essential oils.

Then the real fun began, haha.  I started the cooling process in the fridge and found that it needed to be stirred every fifteen minutes or so to keep things from separating out as they cooled.  When it had solidified, I used my blender to whip it up.  Here is my final result:

To make it more like a lotion and less like a body butter, I portioned a small amount out for my body butter and then stirred the remaining amount adding equal parts rose hydrosol and vegetable glycerin until it was the consistency I wanted.  Just keep stirring it in a little at a time until you get it the way you want.

This was a super fun thing to make!  I hope that it works out as well for you as it did for me!

One thought on “DIY Body Butter”

Leave a Reply

