Gluten Free Vegan Bread Recipe

This recipe has been long in the making.  I don’t know about the rest of you, but shelling out $6 or $7 for a dry, dense, brick of gluten free bread isn’t my first choice.  Sure, they’re okay options when you’re in a rush, but I much prefer to make my own.  There are a number of gluten free brands that basically all you have to do is add the liquids and then bake, but again they’ll run you $5 or $6.  But at least they are a little bit more like “normal” bread.

Growing up I used to make bread with my dad from a book that we picked up at a garage sale called “The Too-Great Bread Bake Book” by Gail Gibbons.  It is a sweet little story of a baker called Missy Tilly who falls asleep while making bread and has a terrible dream of how the “yeastie beasties” make her bread rise so much they chase her out of the house.  At the end of the book is an absolutely fabulous bread recipe that is super simple and is by far the best bread I have ever had in my life.  After making the switch to not eating animal products or gluten, I tried to adapt this recipe to make something even closely resembling this awesome bread.  It took me several trials and one meltdown, but I think I finally am satisfied. 

Missy Tilly Bread – Gluten Free and Vegan
1 1/2 cups Brown Rice Flour
1 cup Tapioca Flour
3/4 cup Soy Flour
1 packages Yeast
1 tablespoon Baking Powder
1 3/4 cup Non-dairy Milk
1/3 cup Brown Sugar
2 tsp Salt
2 tbsp Shortening, or Non-Dairy Margarine

Combine flours and yeast in a large mixing bowl.
In a small saucepan combine milk, brown sugar, salt and shortening and warm until melted together.  This step can also be done in the microwave.
Add liquid to flour mixture stiring constantly.  Add tapioca flour and soy flour.
Shape dough into loaf and place in a loaf pan that has been sprayed with cooking spray or oil.
Cover with a warm towel and let rise in a warm place for 1 hour.
Heat oven to 375 degreed and bake for 35 – 40 minutes or until bread sounds hollow when tapped.

Enjoy!  It isn’t quite as fluffy as the gluten option, but I find that I don’t miss it at all now that I have this!

11 thoughts on “Gluten Free Vegan Bread Recipe”

  1. I can’t wait to try this recipe! I’ve been searching for gluten-free, dairy-free bread that I can actually make myself so that it’s more affordable. Everyone who has tried knows just what a huge challenge it is! Thanks for sharing your hard work; this could be my answer!

      1. Ok, I know it has been a ridiculously long time since I planned to try this recipe. But I have to tell you; I am completely in love with this bread! It is SO good! The smell is definitely the best part, it makes my whole house smell like good old fashioned homemade bread! It also tastes amazing and the texture is exactly what I’ve been looking for. I haven’t been here to write about it because I have been SO busy eating this bread! I did make two small changes to the recipe (just for me, because I’m annoying and I can’t ever eat what everyone else can) 1. I couldn’t find any brown rice flour – only white rice flour and 2. I can’t eat soy flour so I used sorghum flour instead. If it’s ok with you I want to write about this bread on my blog…because no one should have to go one more day without this bread in their life! But I will definitely link it back to you because you are the creative genius behind this amazing masterpiece! Have I mentioned thank you? Seriously, thank you, it’s awesome!

      2. That is so great to hear! I’m glad that you like it as much as I do. I agree that the best part is the smell. sigh. Smells like home, haha. Feel free to re-post and share! Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

