Desert Essence Coconut Conditioner Review

I am slowly accepting that I will never have my hair feel the same way that it did when I coated it in silicones with my salon level conditioner.  But can’t a girl have silky soft hair even if she dyes it occasionally?  Am I really asking for the moon, here?

Ingredients: Water, Organic Olive Leaf Extract, Organic Nettle Leaf Extract, Organic Matricaria Flower Extract, Coconut Derived Cetearyl Alcohol, Organic Shea Butter, Organic Sunflower Seed Oil, Organic Jojoba Oil, Coconut Derived Carylic/Capric Triglyceride, Dehydroacetic Acid, Cetrimonium Chloride, Benzyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Fruit Derived Potassium Sorbate, Citric Acid, Fragrance (natural oils).

This product is rated 4/10 by the Enivronmental Working Group because of the Benzyl Alcohol, Fragrance, Potassium Sorbate, and Cetrimonium Chloride.  I wish that it didn’t have as many harmful ingredients (to both humans and the environment) because I really do like this conditioner.  It is definitely quite heavy, so those of you with thin, healthy hair will probably want to look into their other products.  For me, I have fine hair, but it is dry at the ends because I dye it and I have recently lightened it.  This producty works so well and leaves my hair feeling smooth.  Notice I didn’t say soft.  I’m used to equating this term with the silky softness my salon brand would give me.  Until I find something that gives me that same feeling I don’t feel right using the word “soft.”  This is definitely the best conditioner I have tried so far.  Sadly, though, this conditioner is so heavy and moisturizing that it only works well for my length.  Anything near the roots looks super duper greasy.  If I combine my hair routine with the Giovanni Smooth as Silk conditioner, or the John Masters Organics Citrus and Neroli detangler I have run-your-fingers-through-it hair.  After using my shampoo bar I put the Giovanni conditioner all over, comb it through and then put the Desert Essence conditioner on my ends and let it sit for a few minutes.  Most definitely a winning combination.  The only down side, really, is the lack of purity in the two products.  I understand that preservatives and emulsifyers are necessary, but I’d rather that the products have a shorter shelf life and be more pure.  End of soap box discussion.  I’ll keep searching for somthing more ‘clean’, but this will definitely work in the interm. 

My boyfriend LOVES this product.  The pina colada scent is a big win for him, and it leaves his thick, curly hair looking quite healthy and feeling smooth.

$8 at grocery stores, health foods stores and online.

Leave a Reply

