Giovanni Smooth as Silk Conditioner Review

It’s been a long haul trying to find the right balance of moisture in a conditioner to go along with my shampoo bar from Chagrin Valley. Not wanting to have to rely on online ordering a more expensive brand, (even though I do love you John Masters Organics) I decided to try and give my locally available brands a try.  Up for review this time is the Smooth as Silk conditioner by Giovanni.

Ingredients: Water, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Butylene Glycol, Certimonium Bromide, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Matricaria Leaf Extract, Valencia Orange Extract, Grapefruit Extract, Lemongrass Extract, Echinacea Extract, Lavender Extract, Rosemary Leaf Extract, Mango Extract, Willow Bark Extract.

The Environmental Working Group gives this conditioner a 3/10 which is relatively low, but all of the synthetic/naturally derived ingredients right at the top of the list make me a little wary.  Still, it’s way better than the silicone laden salon brand I used to drop $30+ on.  Overall, I think I expected better.  

I found that it gave me great slip in the shower, but felt like I had done absolutely nothing for my hair after I rinsed it out.  It worked great as a detangler, though.  As a leave in conditioner it’s great! As a regular rinse-out conditioner I find that it’s lacking for my hair.  The scent is lovely, light and citrus-y and it doesn’t linger which is great for me for work.  Would I repurchase? Probably not.

That being said, I plan on keeping this as a detangler for in the shower until I find one product that will be my holy grail.  I may look into other products in their hair care line, but they’ll have to have more natural ingredients and less derivitaves to tempt me I think.

$9 at grocery stores, healthfoods stores and online.

Leave a Reply

