Green Laundry

As a continuation from yesterday’s eco-friendly house cleaning post, I give you the products I have found to be very effective for laundry.

Seventh Generation Natural 4x Laundry Detergent in Geranium Blossoms & Vanilla

Ingredients: Water, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (plant derived from coconuts), Laureth-6 (plant based), Sodium Citrate, Vegetable Glycerin, Oleic Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Boric Acid, Calcium Chloride, Protease, Amylase and mannanase, essential oils and botanical extracts of almond, orange, lemon, patchouli, cedrol, litsea cubeba, ylang ylang, beramot, cintronellol, vanillin, coriander, caryophyllene, clove, geranium, methylisothiazolinone and benzisothiazolinone (synthetic).

Yes, I’m sure you noticed the sulfates right at the top.  Even when they are plant based they can still be skin irritants, but these strong cleaning agents are somewhat necessary for clean clothing.  I don’t know about you, but I am happy to have dirt and oil free clothing at the expense of a little sulfate.  If I get the detergent on my skin, I just wash it off right away.

My two most favourite things about this product are that 1) it is 4x concentrated, so that means I’m paying for less water in the product to have it work just as well, and 2) the outside container is compostable and the inner baggie is 100% recyclable.  On the bottle it states “this bottle uses 66% less plastic than a typical 2.95L 2x laundry bottle and washes the same number of loads!”  I have tried this scent and the unscented one and I really like this product.  It removes stains and dirt well enough on it’s own and doesn’t leave a heavy, synthetic fragrance behind on my clothes.  It’s gentle enough to use on hand-wash only fabrics too!

$17 at select grocery stores, the majority of healthfoods stores and online

Pink Solution Stain Remover

Okay, so it’s not just a stain remover but that’s what I use it for.  On the side it gives you instructions on how to dilute this to be pretty much any kind of cleaner you could think of.  However, at $30 a container, I’m keeping it as an exclusive stain remover.  It is 100% natural, non-toxic and biodegradable within 28 days.  Full of plant enzymes this thing zaps stains like nothing else.  In Adria Vasil’s book, Echoholic Home, she speaks to how it removed a 5 year old red wine stain from her white carpet.  For me, it has effectively removed stains of all varieties from clothing of all fabrics.  Grass stains on my soccer socks? No problem.  Black tea stains on a white lulu lemon shirt? It has it covered.  Ketchup? You betcha.  It was worth the trouble trying to locate this product in my city.  I will never look to a chemical stain remover again.

$35 at London Drugs, some Costcos and online.

Leave a Reply

