A little light reading anyone?

One of the blogs that I follow had a post like this, so I thought I’d follow suit with a post of my own.  Up for your reading pleasure I have a few books that I really enjoy and found very informative, a few magazines and a few blogs that I frequent.  This is kind of a mixed post, because I have pulled books etc. from a variety of genres: nutrition, green living, green beauty, recipies, and general wellness.  There are all kinds of places that you can purchase these but don’t forget about your local library.  They have all kinds of wonderful things there, and you won’t have to break your budget and you’ll be enviro-friendly!

Adria Vasil has written a whole series of books about green living.  This book was her first, and it talks about everything from personal care, home cleaning, appliances and renovating with the environment in mind.  Definitely falls into the jack-of-all-trades-master-of-none cliche, but I found this one to be a great starting point.  I also like and frequently referred to her Ecoholic Home book and her Ecoholic Beauty book.  Check out her website too for some great resources, links, her blog, and for a list of her “mean 15” ingredients to avoid when shopping for products.  

Written by two Registered Dieticians who specialize in non-animal product nutrition this was my go-to resource for the first little while as I transitioned to eliminating animal products from my diet.  Unlike other books of it’s kind, it really doesn’t push you to become truly vegan. For exactly what I mean by that, look at my previous post.  I really appreciated that it presented all of the benefits of a plant food diet without being preach-y.  They also go into fairly extensive detail about the various nutrients and why they may or may not require supplementation.  All in all, a great book.

This book ties into a documentary that I watched years and years ago called “What the Bleep Do We Know?” which is about quantum physics, string theory, that kind of thing.  Have I lost you?  I promise it’s much more interesting than it sounds.  Fascinating actually.  This book is great because it explains pieces of that complicated physics in terms of contemporary and classical literature, art, and in simple terms that don’t make it feel like you are being talked down to.  For those looking to give your brain a little food, I would definitely recommend checking this one out.

This magazine is available in the iTunes store (which is great! No paper!) and is a great introduction to vegan living both as a diet and a lifestyle. There are a bunch of recipes in every issue and lots of good tips and tricks for being vegan in a carnivorous world.

This is probably my most favourite natural magazine.  It has it all: content for your body, mind and spirit.  Great recipes, loads of interesting articles, lots of product and fashion reviews, information on alternative therapies, sound therapy, you name it, this magazine has it.  The UK seems to be a bit further ahead of the times than Canada when it comes to regulating chemicals and substances in personal care prodcuts, so it makes sense that this magazine would be a UK publication.  If you only pick one thing to read out of this list of magazines I’d definitely reccomend this one.

I also have a subscription to this magazine, which is not affiliated with the UK Natural Health magazine, and the two are significantly different.  This one focuses more on green living and nutrition than the UK Natural Health Magazine.  Another really good read.

My guilty pleasures include VOGUE, Elle, Allure, and Shape magazine.  All on my iPad, of course.  I don’t want to sacrifice trees just for the sake of my curiosity about trends in makeup and clothes.

Blogs to check out:

Living Pretty Naturally is a green/natural beauty blog with a touch of travel…right up my alley.

Naturalla Beauty has tons of great product reviews.  Her blog introduced me to cheeky cosmetics, and I couldn’t be happier.

Plenty Sweet Enough hasn’t posted anything new in a while, but has great resources and recipes in their archives.  Definitely worth a browse.

Tofu n’ Sproutz has a TON of vegan recipes on their blog.  I’ve adapted a few to be gluten free with success!

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

