Dr. Alkaitis Organic Enzyme Exfoliating Mask Review

Like I have mentioned before, I am a diva, and I like to spend time using facial masks, doing hair treatments, etc.  But since I made the switch to all natural skin and hair care I have been on the search for good masks.  This is the first mask of a few that I will be reviewing over the next few weeks.  I want to give each mask at least two or three tries before I review it so that I can offer a better review.  First up: Dr. Alkaitis Organic Enzyme Exfoliating Mask.

Ingredients: Organic Oat Buds, Organic Blueberry, Organic Bilberry, Organic Strawberry, Organic Raspberry, Organic Grapes, Organic Blackberry, Extracts of Organic Barley Grass, Organic Tumeric, and Organic Cat’s Claw, Cellulase, Lipase, Lactase, Protease Complex, Xylinase, Amylase, Bromelian, Papain, Maltase, Beta-Glucanase, Invertase, Pectinase, Mannanase, Phytase, Alpha-Galactosidase, Arabinosidase, and Glucoamylase. (Everything from Cellulase onwards are the enzymes in the mask)

Claim: Employs a broad range of enzymes and is an active and effecting anti-aging mask; rejuvinates the complexion by gently yet thoroughly removing all accumulated cellular and microbial debris from the skin.

The mask comes as a powder and needs to be mixed with water as the enzymes are not active until moistureized.  This is an important point to note: you should have a sprizer bottle at the ready to keep this mask hydrated the entire time that you are masking; it will lose it’s effectiveness if you let it dry out on your skin.  You don’t have to mix the mask with water, though.  Honey, avocado or yogurt will work also; you just have to make it into a bit of a paste.

I have just been using water to mix the mask to test out the mask on it’s own.  I didn’t want to confuse it’s benefits with that of honey, avocado or yogurt.  It mixes very easily and spreads well over your skin.  The oat buds give it a bit of a rough texture, so I have been applying it by rubbing my hands in little circles for extra exfoliation.  It definitely smells like oatmeal and it kind of reminds me of making bread with my dad when I was five, so it adds to the healing/relaxing process for me.  When it comes time to remove the mask (It is recommended to be on for 5-7 minutes) the battle begins.  It is a very difficult mask to remove. I had the best luck when I applied it in the shower and let it rest on my skin while I wash my hair.  The first time I used the mask I just tried to wash it off in the sink.  It became very gooey and stretchy and next to impossible to remove completely with just my hands and copious amounts of water.  Even with a rough face cloth it was a bit of a challenge.  But now that I know the shower is the way to go, I’m very happy with this mask.  

I have seen an improvement in the overall texture of my skin, and after the first application it lost all of the dullness I had been experiencing for the past few weeks.  Overall, it’s a winner in my books.  There are three other masks offered by Dr. Alkaitis, two of which have caught my eye.  I may consider giving them a try soon.

$60 for 1oz (but this will offer a large number of treatments because you use 2 tsps with each mask) at ecodivabeauty.ca or http://www.alkaitis.com

Leave a Reply

