Chagrin Valley Coconut Milk Shampoo Bar

Haha, you thought I was done reviewing shampoo bars!  On my most recent order for various full sizes and new products from Chagrin Valley, http://www.chagrinvalleysoapandsalve.com, I added a sample size of the coconut milk shampoo bar.  It was one of the few shampoo bars on their website that didn’t contain the babassu oil which seems to be the one ingredient that disagrees with my hair.  So, I gave it a go.

Ingredients: Coconut Oil, Sunflower Oil, Sweet Almond Oil, Rice Bran Oil, Organic Coconut Oil, Water, Castor Oil, Sodium Hydroxide (used in the saponification process, none actually remains in the bar), Organic Sustainable Palm Oil, Non-GMO Canola Oil.

If scents bother you, this is definitely the bar for you.  It has very little scent on it’s own and really doesn’t have one either when it’s warmed up in the shower.  For me this is the only ‘con’ for this bar.  It did a great job controlling my frizz in the hot, humid weather and makes my hair feel silky soft.  I think this bar makes my hair feel the softest, actually.  It also has a high gloss shine with this bar.  The coconut milk bar works so well for my fine, long hair, but for my boyfriend’s thick, curly hair it definitely was a little light on hydration: his hair was a bit frizzy at the ends which only seems to happen for him in bars that don’t have babassu oil.  I will definitely be purchasing this one in the full size.

Leave a Reply

