Natural Deodorant Review – Chagrin Valley Summer Rain and Woodland Breeze

This is my third post reviewing deodorants.  You can find the other ones here and here.  Up this time is the cream deodorant from Chargin Valley in Summer Rain and Woodland Breeze.

Ingredients Summer Rain: Organic Virgin Coconut Oil, Organic Jobjoba Oil, Organic Cornstarch, Baking Soda, Organic Beeswax, Organic Essential Oils of Lavender, Rosemary, Ylang Ylang, and Thyme.

Ingredients Woodland Breeze: Organic Virgin Coconut Oil, Organic Cornstarch, Organic Jobjoba Oil, Baking Soda, Organic Beeswax, Organic Essential Oils of Bergamot, Cypress and Juniperberry.

Aside from the baking soda, every ingredient is USDA certified organic.  Not too shabby. Sadly there is no  vegan product available yet.  Fingers crossed that they will develop one for the near future.

Although I have had success with Dr. Mist’s Hygiene Spray as a deodorant I wanted to try something that might work as an absorbant antiperspirant as well.  The cornstarch and the baking soda in these products offer that.  We are in the middle of a heat wave where I live right now so it is an excellent time to give a new deodorant a fair go.  I am trying the Summer Rain scent and my boyfriend is trying the Woodland Breeze.  Both scents are quite subtle; Summer Rain doesn’t smell nearly as feminine as I would have expected.  My first day trying it I put in on in the morning and then went to work in the garden in the afternoon in the heat of the day.  Sadly, it really did not hold up.  I couldn’t wait to get into the shower and start over.  

I gave my body a chance to adjust to it over the next few days and I am really glad that I did.  Now it works like an absolute charm! It controls odor just as well as the Dr. Mist spray and I find it works as an antiperspirant as well.  My boyfriend is a fan of his and likes it even better than the Soapwalla deodorant he was using before.

$7.75 at http://www.chagrinvalleysoapandsalve.com

Leave a Reply

