Natural Self Tanner – Lavera Sun Sensitiv

I am definitely guilty of liking that lovely bronze glow, and although I don’t frequent tanning salons or lie out in the sun, I definitely don’t put on as much sunscreen as I should.  This summer I promised myself that once I found a good natural, chemical-free self tanner that I’d change this nasty habit and become as diligent as I should be with my natural sunscreen.  I didn’t have to look for long.

Ingredients: Water, Organic Soya Oil, Dihydroxyacetone, Organic Grain Alcohol, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate Citrate, Erythrulose, Myristyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Organic Sunflower Seed Oil, Organic Jobjoba Seed Oil, Organic Aloe Gel, Coconut Oil, Organic Macadamia Seed Oil, Vitamin E, Xanthan Gum, Organic Rose Flower Water, Organic Camellia Leaf Extract, Organic Lavender Flower Water, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Parfum (natural essential oils), Limonene, Geranoil, Linalool, Citronellol, Citral, Coumarin, Benzyl Benzoate, Eugenol.

The Environmental Working Group rates all of the ingredients in this product as a 2 or lower, which is pretty good in my books.  The majority of the ingredients rate a 0 on the scale of 1-10 with 10 being the most dangerous.  I can’t stand the smell of most drugstore or even higher end self tanners.  St. Tropez had me running for the hills.  This one has a very pleasant fragrance that smells like summer and although it isn’t strong it definitely sticks on your skin all day.

After exfoliating super well I applied the self tanner following pretty standard self tanning application techniques.  For a good video on how to apply self tanner, click here.  She does a lot of talking at the beginning but fast forward to 5:52 for the how-to.

The formula absorbs fairly rapidly and after about 5 minutes I put my clothes on and it didn’t stain at all.  The tanner starts to develop within a few minutes and will achieve the full colour by about 3 hours.  It was a pretty subtle change for me, which I like, and wasn’t anywhere close to being orange.  Three cheers for avoiding the oompa loompa look! I did get one little streak on my forearm but I feel like that’s more my application technique than the actual formula itself.  All in all, I’m very, very pleased with this product and will be buying more as soon as the online store I can order it from gets it back in stock!

$33 at http://www.lovetruenatural.com

Leave a Reply

