Natural Bug Repellent

I really dislike the smell of bug spray, and I especially dislike the idea of spraying all kinds of chemicals on myself just to keep the mosquitos at bay.  However, I also dislike mosquito bites even more than the scent of chemical sunscreens because one little mosquito bite will swell up to at least an inch in diameter even if I haven’t touched it at all!

I have been researching natural bug sprays for the past month or so because where I live is notorious for it’s large, west-nile virus carrying mosquitos; with the amount of rain we have received here this year the mosquitos are almost the size of hummingbirds.  It’s crazy.

With citronella being phased out in the next year or so because of it’s ineffectivity I was on the hunt for some combination of essential oils that would deter the pesky buggies.  After a week or so of trialling this product I have to say I’m impressed:

Chagrin Valley Certified Organic ‘Don’t Bug Me’

Ingredients: Organic Jobjoba Oil, Organic Sunflower Oil, Organic Essential Oils of Lemon Eucalyptus, Cedarwood, Citronella, Lavender, Rosemary, Lemongrass, Basil and Thyme.

Not only is this gem organic it is also vegan.  It smells very similar to the common bug repelling candles you can buy at the home and garden store, and once it settles into your skin it is pretty subtle for a bug spray. The cedarwood and eucalyptus smells are definitely the most prominent.  The only downside is that this is an oil product, and it does spray on very oily so it really isn’t meant to be sprayed on clothing; only the exposed skin is to be sprayed.  It absorbs quite quickly after you spray it on and rub it in.  I have sprayed it on underneath my clothing, allowed my skin a few minutes to dry and then put my clothes on and I haven’t noticed any oil spots yet.  If that changes, I’ll update this post.

All in all I am very happy with this product, and I find that I am not fending off the mosquitos like I was without using bug spray.  Definitely a win.  When this runs out I will definitely be repurchasing it.

($12.50 for 4oz at http://www.chagrinvalleysoapandsalve.com)

Leave a Reply

