Natural Lip Balm

I have a confession to make: I am a bit of a lip balm collector.  I am always, always in the market for a new lip balm.  But ones loaded with petroleum or other nasty, enviro-polluting chemicals?  No, thanks.

Here are my current favourites, two of which are organic!

EOS Lip Balm

Ingredients: Olive Oil, Beeswax, Coconut Oil, Jobjoba Seed, Natural Flavour (the two pictured include pomegranate, raspberry and mint natural flavours), Shea Butter, Stevia Leaf Extract, Pomegranate Oil, Vitamin E, Sunflower Oil, Raspberry Leaf Extract, and Linalool.  95% Organic, 100% Natural.

I like the unique ball design of these lip balms and the formula is lovely.  It’s super hydrating and soaks into your lips very quickly and provides long lasting moisture.  The flavours are all quite nice but these two, the pomegranate-raspberry and the sweet mint balls, are my absolute favourite.  You have to be careful with EOS products, though, because although these lip balms are all natural, their hand lotion and body lotions are not and actually contain formaldehyde releasing ingredients! eeep!  Lip Balms are also available in the traditional stick.  (~$3 at http://www.evolutionofsmooth.ca or at select grocery stores and retailers)

Chagrin Valley Lip Butter Balm in Mocha Java

Ingredients: Jobjoba Oil infused with Coffee beans, Castor Oil, Cocoa Butter, Certified Sustainable Palm Oil, Babassu Oil, Coconut Oil, Beeswax, Dark Chocolate

All of Chagrin Valley’s lip balms are certified organic, but only two of them are vegan (creamy shea butter and avocado cream lavender).  My boyfriend is a huge coffee fan, so we ordered this one, the mocha java balm, and he is loving it! It is super-hydrating, absorbs rapidly and lasts a long time…or at least it would last a long time if my boyfriend stopped licking it off his lips! ($3.85 at chagrinvalleysoapandsalve.com)

Hemper-Fi Lip Balm

Ingredients: Soy Wax, Candelilla Wax, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Hemp Seed Oil, Castor Oil, Olive Oil, Meadowform Seed Oil, Castor Isosterate, Shea Butter, Vitamin E.

This lip balm I picked up as swag at a concert I went to about a month ago.  Of course I read the ingredients before thanking them very much and putting it in my pocket, and I was so happy that I did!  It is super soft, super hydrating and gives a nice glossy shine.  The packaging is pretty standard, so no bonus points for that, but still a decent product.  I plan to repurchase when this one runs out. ($3 at http://www.hemperfi.ca)

Leave a Reply

