Chagrin Valley Shampoo Bar Review – Citrus Mint and Soapnuts, and Babassu Marshmallow

This is a combination review of my final two samples from Chagrin Valley Soap and Salve (www.chagrinvalleysoapandsalve.com).  Up first: Citrus Mint & Soapntus.

This bar is described as a good ‘beginner shampoo bar’ for those just starting to use shampoo bars.  It rinses more cleanly, leaving less of that waxy residue common during the adjustment phase (which can last several weeks.  Believe me, I know it is frustrating but I promise you that it’ll be worth it!).  It has a subtle citrus scent which is a little too subtle for me, especially considering how amazing some of Chagrin’s other shampoo bars smell.  Even though I tried washing my hair several times with this one to allow for it’s own adjustment period I found that it still left my hair feeling a little gummy and kind of stretchy.  I also found that it left my ends feeling quite dry.  After examining the ingredients I have noticed that babassu oil is the common thread between shampoo bars that leave this feeling in my hair.  That oil just must not agree with my own natural oils in my fine, long hair, but man, oh man, do they ever work well for my boyfriend’s thick, curly hair.  So although this bar did not work out for me, I would definitely recommend it as a sample to try when first experimenting with shampoo bars.  Also, it’s certified organic!!

Ingredients: Organic Coconut Oil, Organic Sunflower Oil, Organic Babassu Oil, Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Organic Soapnuts, Water, Sodium Hydroxide (used in the saponification process. None actually remains in the bar), Organic Cocoa Butter, Organic Castor Oil, Extract of Rosemary, Essential Oils of Lemon and Peppermint.

Babassu and Marsh Mallow

Both my boyfriend and I were disappointed with this one but for different reasons.  I found that this bar left my hair feeling gummy and dry at the ends, and this bar gave my boyfriend the worst hair-days he’s had since giving these bars a try.  His hair just becaume frizzy and completely unmanageable.  The website advertizes this bar as being good for coarse, thick, kinky hair which neither of us have, so I guess we shouldn’t be surprised that it went down like a lead balloon.  Not bad, necessarily, just not for us.

Ingredients: Babassu Oil, Grapeseed Oil, Coconut Oil, Avocado Oil. Jobjoba Oil, Mango Butter, Castor Oil, Water, Shea Butter, Sodium Hydroxide (again, nothing remains in the bar), Organic Marsh Mallow Root, Walnut Oil, Rice Bran Oil, Organic Aloe, Essential Oils of Ylang Ylang, Lemon, Ginger, Rosemary Oil Extract.

