Chagrin Valley Summer Sunshine Shampoo Bar Review

One more shampoo bar up for review by Chagrin Valley Soap and Salve (www.chagrinvalleysoapandsalve.com).  This time I’ll be reviewing their Summer Sunshine shampoo bar.

Ingredients: Coconut Oil, Sunflower Oil, Babassu Oil, Castor Oil, Wheat Germ Oil, Water, Organic Sustainable Palm Oil, Sodium Hydroxide (used in the saponification process and none actually remains in the bar), Non-GMO Canola Oil, Organic Coconut Milk, Essential Oils of Lavender, Sweet Orange, Pink Grapefruit, Lime, Rosemary, Ylang Ylang, and Sea Kelp, Rosemary Leaf Extract.

The company describes this bar as being formulated for summer when the scalp becomes more oily, but the hair dries out due to sun and wind.  I found it to be a very nice balance between adding moisture and controlling excess oil.  It lathers well, but I found that I really had to scrub hard wtih my fingertips to get my hair clean with this bar.  After my apple cider vinegar rinse, I didn’t find my hair to be too tangly which was a nice bonus, because my fine hair usually gets pretty tangled after scrubbing that much.  It would have been a completely different story if I didn’t use the rinse, though.  Again, this one has a pretty subtle scent, even in the shower, but I’m not complaining.  With the way it cleaned my hair and how amazingly soft it felt when it dried and how much shine this bar gave my hair, I expect to be using this bar quite frequently in my rotation of shampoo bars.  Even my boyfriend, who has thick, curly hair liked this bar.  It really brought out his curls.

Leave a Reply

