Natural Sunscreen – Jane Iredale Powder-Me SPF 30

Another natural sunscreen up for review and I have to say that this might be my favourite facial sunscreen.  I dont’ know if I would use it as an all-over body sunscreen mainly because of the applicator and the price, but I’m definitely going to be using it on my face every morning and throughout the day!

Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 15%, Mica, Montmorillonite, Boron Nitride, Isopropyl Jobjobate, Pomegranate Extract.

The Environmental Working Group (www.ewg.org) gives this a 2/10

The only sketchy ingredient in this product is the titanium dioxide that only gets a high rating, according to EWG, if it is delivered via aerosol spray.  The applicator keeps powder dusting to a minimum so you won’t find yourself in a big cloud of product when you use it, thus you won’t be inhaling the titanium dioxide.  Also, there are no nano-particles in this sunscreen so the risk is actually very minimal if at all.  At first glance on the website it looks like this product is rated a 7, but if you follow the information you’ll find that it rates considerably lower.

Like I said before, I am very impressed with this product and I will definitely be repurchasing it when it runs out.  But I expect that to be a while.  I have used it for over a week and the overall weight of the package hasn’t changed at all.  I have used it according to the directions for a little over a week and, having spent a considerable time out in the sun, I haven’t burned or tanned at all!  It’s great! 

This product is listed as very water resistant, which means that in the water or when you’re out, active and sweating this sunscreen will continue to offer SPF30 coverage for at least 80 minutes.  So, naturally, the instructions indicate to reapply after 80 minutes of swimming or perspiring and after towel drying; otherwise reapply at least every 2 hours.  It does warn against inhaling the product, instructing you to apply it carefully around your nose and your mouth, but that is the way it should be with every powdered product.  Your lungs don’t like having anything in them that doesn’t belong down there!

My favourite part of this sunscreen is that I can apply and reapply it over my makeup and I don’t have to worry about it wiping any of my makeup away.  The translucent colour works well for me, and even for my darker skinned friends without leaving a significant white cast, but it does come in a tanned colour for those that are worried.  

~$50 at select stores and spas or at shop.janeiredale.com

