Chagrin Valley Mud and Clay Shampoo Bar Review

This one smells as good as it sounds….until you hop in the shower.  The dirt aroma is a bit overpowering in the bar itself, but when you hop in the shower it takes on a more herb-like quality and isn’t altogether unpleasant. Yes, I know that I was careful with my wording there; the scent of this bar in any state does not appeal to me.  

The review doesn’t get much better from here, I’m afraid.

I found this bar to be far too stripping, leaving my hair feeling squeaky and tangled in the shower.  It was almost impossible to brush my hair out even with a wide-tooth comb.  I gave up after briefly trying to brush it out wet and then waited for it to dry to see if that improved things…it didn’t.  I had to jump right back in the shower to use my John Masters Detangler and even then it was a bit of a battle.  After I had let my hair dry the first time with just the shampoo bar in it, my hair felt awful and waxy.  It was almost like the bar had resolidified in my hair the way these shampoo bars were doing when I was using a hair dryer.  Not okay.  This bar is marketed as a spa-treatment for your hair, but I feel like I needed a deep conditioning spa treatment after using this bar. 

I only washed my hair with this one twice and I had to give up.  It was just not the right balance for my large amount of fine, long hair.

Ingredients: Coconut Oil, Sunflower Oil, Olive Oil, Virgin Shea Butter, Water, Sodium Hydroxide (used in the saponification process, none actually remain in the bar), Castor Oil, Rice Bran Oil, Dead Sea Mud, Rhassoul Clay, Sea Kelp, Essential Oils of Lavender, Lemongrass, Lemon, Rosemary Extract.

available at http://www.chagrinvalleysoapandsalve.com

Leave a Reply

