Chagrin Valley Chestnut Henna Shampoo Bar Review

This shampoo bar review I am doing on behalf of my boyfriend.  My hair has lots of light coloured highlights in it, so when I ordered this bar I had him in mind.  He’s used it a few times and after a number of questions I think I can offer a bit of a review on this bar.

Ingredients: Babassu Oil, Sunflower Oil, Coconut Oil, Castor Oil, Water, Sodium Hydroxide (used in the saponification process, none actually remains in the bar), Organic Sustainable Palm Oil, Organically Grown Henna, Non-GMO Canola Oil, Organic Coconut Milk, Indigo, Organic Black Walnut Hulls, Organic Cloves, Rosemary Oil Extract.

The henna, indigo, and black walnut hulls in this bar are supposed to add a little depth to your current colour (there are three different colour hues to pick from – this one is for dark hair) while adding strength and shine to your hair.  Sadly, I don’t think that this bar did any of those things for my boyfriend’s thick, curly hair.  It appeared to weigh it down and dry it out at the same time.  Because of these results he didn’t use it long enough to really see if the colour depositing products would change his natural hair colour so I can’t speak to that aspect of this bar.  This bar might work out better for someone with slightly thinner, balanced hair that doesn’t require a lot of moisturizing ingredients.  On the upside it smells absolutely amazing!

http://www.chargrinvalleysoapandsalve.com

Leave a Reply

