Chagrin Valley Rosemary Lavender Shampoo Bar Review

After a short hiatus the shampoo bar trial is back on track.  The bar up for review this time is the Rosemary Lavender shampoo bar from Chagrin Valley Natural Soap and Salve.  www.chagrinvalleysoapandsalve.com  I am really like how I do not need to use any conditioner aside from an apple cider vinegar rise and my hair is still silky soft!

This bar is designed to add moisture and nourishment to dry and damaged hair.  According to their website, Chagrin Valley states that “hair loving essential oils along with jobjoba oil and mango butter give hair a nourishing treat.  Mango butter penetrates to remoisturize, revive and repair damaged cells.”  

The Ingredients: Coconut Oil, Sunflower and Rice Bran Oil infused with Organic Botanicals (Rosemary and Lavender), Babassu Oil, Castor Bean Oil, Water, Organic Aloe Vera, Organic Sustainable Palm Oil, Sodium Hydroxide, Jobjoba Oil, Mango Butter, Essential Oils of Rosemary, Lavender and Tea Tree Oil, Rosemary Oil Extract.  

The Sodium Hydroxide is used in the saponification process; none of this ingredient remains in the bar itself.

My initial impressions of this bar were that the scent was significantly more subtle than the Lavender Spice bar even after it was warmed up in the shower.  It didn’t create a big lather, but it smoothed into my hair quite easily and moved throughout it without much issue.  I’m discovering that the products with babassu oil seem to coat my hair much more than the other bars have.  This really just means that I have to work harder to get them to lather properly so that the super-fatted oils don’t just stick to my hair and give me that waxy feeling again.  The thing that I didn’t like much about this bar is that it really tangled my hair every time I used it.  I was tempted to use my detangler from John Masters Organics a few times, and if I were to work this bar into a regular rotation I might add this step. 

When my hair was dry, though, I couldn’t believe how soft it was!  It is definitely a very hydrating bar for my fine, long hair and one that I intend to purchase in the full size very soon.  It may be too heavy to use as an every day bar, but it will be a great weekly treatment if nothing else.

