Chagrin Valley Lavender Spice Shampoo Bar Review

This is the second shampoo bar I’ve tried from Chagrin Naturals (I ordered a few samples all at once – see my previous posts on shampoo bars) and I am impressed, yet again, by Chagrin Naturals.

This vegan-friendly shampoo bar smells absolutely incredible!  The cassia essential oil adds a lot of warmth and spice to the subtle lavender scent and this only intensifies in the shower.  The scent lingers in your hair for hours and gradually builds up to last longer and longer the more you use it.  According to their website, http://www.chagrinvalleysoapandsalve.com, “this natural shampoo enrich with deep conditioning and moisturizing coconut milk, imparts silkiness, softness and shine to your hair”.  The lavender essential oil is excellent for rebalancing sebum production and will help with those afflicted with dandruff.  

The first time I used this shampoo bar I noticed immediately how rich it was.  The lather was very thick and creamy which meant extra rinsing for me.  I actually had to jump back in the shower and section off my hair to try and get it as clean as possible.  Even after that I still felt like my hair was coated in that waxy feeling I experienced when I first tried shampoo bars after using sulphate shampoos all of my life.  I had my fingers crossed that it was just a transition phase from a shampoo bar that was a little more stripping to one that was heavy with moisturizing ingredients.

The second wash was about the same as the first, but then I started seeing a transition into hydrated but not greasy/heavy hair.  This bar appears to be a really good balance of oil control and moisturization: After the second wash I started washing my hair every day with this bar and really saw an improvement overall.  I don’t feel as bad washing my hair every day because of the composition of the shampoo bar, and so far my hair is happier for it.  The only downside is that my hair is now taking even longer to dry.  However, I’m finding that my John Masters Organics detangler isn’t necessary with this bar.  Just an apple cider vinegar rinse mixed with a few drops of lavender essential oil and I’m good to go!

Ingredients: Coconut Oil, Sunflower Oil, Sweet Almond Oil, Rice Brain Oil, Water, Organic Coconut Milk, Castor Oil, Sodium Hydroxide (used in the saponification process, none actually remains in the bar), Organic Sustainable Palm Oil (yay!), Canola Oil (non-GMO), Essential Oils of Lavender and Cassia, Rosemary Oil Extract.

Leave a Reply

