Chagrin Valley Cafe Moreno Shampoo Bar Review

I ordered a bunch of shapoo bar samples from Chagrin Valley Soap and Salve and it was well worth the wait for them to make it all the way up here to Canada.  The personalized hand written note was a nice touch and the envelope the bars came in smelled AMAZING!  I couldn’t wait to hop in the shower and try one of them out.

Chagrin Valley Soap and Salve is a family owned and operated company from Ohio which promises all natural, biodegradable, cruelty free and minimally packaged products.  What started off in 2001 as a hobby/experiment grew into a fully fledged business that ships to over 80 countries worldwide.  Chagrin Valley remains true to their roots and continues to make products that are 100% natural and even have developed an organic line of products.  Their website is http://www.chagrinvalleysoapandsalve.com

I couldn’t wait until I had given all of the shampoo bars a fair trial before blogging a grouped posting about all of the samples, so I thought I’d send out one review at a time.  I have fine, long, straight hair and a lot of it; it’s a little on the dry side due to the processing I have put it through, but overall it’s not too bad.

Sodium Hydroxide is listed as an ingredient in all of their shampoo bars, but it is used in the saponification process (transforming oil to soap) and none of it remains in the finished product.  After much debate I decided to try the Cafe Moreno bar.

Cafe Moreno

Ingredients: Coconut Oil, Clove Infused Olive Oil, Virgin Shea Butter, Organic Fair Trade Coffee, Rice Bran Oil, Sodium Hydroxide, Castor Oil, Non-GMO Canola Oil, Essential Oils of YlangYlang, Lavendar and Rosemary Oil Extract. (It is gluten free and vegan)

The cloves are supposed to enhance warm tones while the coffee adds a bit of richness to brown hair and adds shine.  All of the oils and butters are supposed to be great for intense moisturizing, adding shine and manageability back into the hair, and softening damaged hair.

The scent is definitely what drew me to trial this bar first.  Cloves are definitely the primary note in this bar and it becomes a fairly strong but lovely aroma in the shower.  The first wash lathered quite well and the second one cleaned my hair so well I didn’t feel that I needed the third wash as has been my routine with my other bar.  Right away I could tell the difference in the moisturizing qualities of this bar verses my previous bar, and I almost didn’t need the detangler I have been using.  The aspect that I think I enjoy the most about this bar is how easy it is to rinse from my hair!  I still rinse for the recommended one minute per wash but I feel that my hair doens’t need more than that unlike my previous bar.  It might be because this bar doesn’t make my hair nearly as tangled as the other bar did, so it was easier to lift and separate sections of my hair to rinse it better.  The scent of cloves and coffee lingered on my hair as it was drying and the more days I washed with this bar the stronger the scent became.  Don’t get me wrong, this is a great bonus; who doesn’t want a lovely, subtly spicy scent to their hair?  Right from the first time I washed my hair with this bar I was absolutely blown away by how soft it was.  It felt even softer to me than when I was using my silicone and chemical laden, top-of-the-line conditioner.  

I have been using this shampoo bar for about 5 washes now (I washed my hair every other day) and I really can’t say anything bad about this bar.  It was a wonderful introduction to the world of Chagrin Valley shampoo bars.  I think I have finally found a home for my high maintenance hair.

The other samples I purchased are Babassu & Marsh Mallow, Chestnut Henna, Citrus Mint and Soapnuts, Lavender Spice, Mud & Clay, Neem & Tea Tree, Olive & Babassu, Rosemary Lavender and Summer Sunshine.  Two of these are somewhat unique: the Neem & Tea Tree bar is a combination body and shampoo bar and the Mud & Clay bar is more of a treatment bar than an everyday shampoo.

